[Review] TonyMoly Lovely Eye Liner Pencil

Hey everyone! Review #2 of today…hope you enjoy.

2014-06-30 13.18.12

I got this pencil as part of my recent Pacific Mall haul. I’ve tried it out a few times and have decided to share my experience with you guys.

I got this eyeliner in the brown colour. I had already found my HG black eyeliner, but I wanted a brown one for more natural looks. Also, this was only $3.99, which was pretty cheap (Especially since all of their other eyeliners were ~$10.00 or more!).

I have no idea, but the lid on this was so incredibly difficult to take off the first time. Seriously. I took off the little end bit (Which shows which colour you got) 3 times before I finally managed to pry the lid off. So that wasn’t exactly fun.

Maybe it’s just mine, though. I do have to be careful not to put the lid on too tight, though, or else I’ll have trouble taking it off next time, though. I’ve never had this problem with other pencil liners…strange.

2014-06-30 13.18.28

 

(If you look closely, you can actually see the nicks and scratches from when I was trying to pry the lid off…yeah.)

This isn’t an auto-sharpening liner, unfortunately, so you need to sharpen it whenever it gets blunt. I consider this a huge waste of product, and sort of a hassle, too.

It has a fairly nice, slightly creamy consistency, which makes it nice and easy to blend.

This eyeliner has decent pigmentation. Not great, but not too bad, either.

2014-07-16 20.24.41

In the above picture, the first line was drawn using a regular amount of pressure. The second line was using slightly more (It wouldn’t be too comfortable pressing that hard on your eyelid, though). The third line has been rubbed a little. And the last one has been rubbed with water. As you can see, it’s almost gone.

2014-07-16 20.25.40

This pencil is really easy to use, though, and is pretty precise. It doesn’t smudge unless you smudge it.

It does look quite natural and soft, though, which is nice. Perfect for everyday wear, or just when you want something more understated for your eyes. Also great to use for tightlining.

The picture below is after it has been put under running water. As long as you don’t smudge it (And let it set, of course), it seems to be okay.

2014-07-16 20.26.56

 

(It looks darker in the above picture than in the previous picture…I can assure you that that is NOT the case. I suspect that may be because of the different lighting…sorry!)

 

The wear time is shorter than what I’d expect, though. After 5 hours, it’s completely gone. By hour 4, it’s barely there. Primer extends the wear by maybe an hour or so.

This eyeliner is ridiculously easy to remove, though. A little soap and water, and it comes off almost right away. No makeup remover required.

In short…I expected better. Let’s just leave it at that.

Pros:

  • Cheap
  • Easy to blend
  • Easy to use
  • Precise
  • Looks natural
  • Doesn’t smudge unless you smudge it
  • Easy to remove

 

Cons:

  • Lid too tight
  • Needs to be sharpened
  • Need pressure to get good pigmentation
  • Short wear time

 

Overall rating: 5/10

Would I repurchase? Probably not.

I’m sure I could find better liners out there for around the same price or even cheaper. There are a lot of good things about it, but it fell short in terms of the most important things (Pigmentation and wear time). I’ll use it up, but I probably won’t buy it again.

One thought on “[Review] TonyMoly Lovely Eye Liner Pencil

  1. Pingback: [Review] TheFaceShop Eyeliner Sharpener | delicatedesire

Leave a comment