[Review] Lancôme Le Crayon Khôl Review

Hey guys! After making a passing mention of my preference for pencils over liquid, I thought I would share my absolute favourite pencil liner with you!

2013-11-22 21.19.03

Another product from Lancôme, a brand I love but can’t always afford. Or bring myself to spend that kind of money on a single product. This eyeliner is about $30.00 (i.e. The price of about 15 of the N.Y.C. Liquid Eyeliners I just reviewed).

This is their Le Crayon Khôl in Black Ebony. I got this as a sample with a purchase and have loved it ever since. Seriously. It has ruined pretty much every other pencil eyeliner for me. (Sorry for the blurry picture! My camera must’ve moved when I took it, and I haven’t noticed until just now…)

Alright. Let’s get started, then.

This is your basic pencil eyeliner. The sample version is a nice size, which can fit into your pocket. Easy to carry around. And the writing is in gold with the iconic rose on it. Elegant and simple. It also comes with a sturdy cap which doesn’t slip off, even after it’s been bumping around in my purse for hours.

The one thing I don’t like about pencil eyeliners is how you have to sharpen them. It wastes product and is troublesome. But I love them enough that I can get over that. It hurts my heart to waste this product, though, because of the price. But you can’t avoid it.

This pencil glides on like a dream, soft with zero tug. It’s perfect for tight-lining and creates a nice, soft line. I absolutely love it. It can create a pretty low-key, very wearable look. Not too dark, but it’s enough to still create a nice look. A little more pressure will give you more intensity, so it’s really easy to control how bold you want your look to be. It can be blended very easily, but also doesn’t smudge when you don’t want it to (Read: No raccoon eyes!). A simple, lovely liner.

If you want a really nice, clean, bold cat eye or anything, though, you might want to turn to liquid.

For me, this lasts pretty much all day. It’s slightly smudged at the end of the day, but it’s not really all that noticeable. It looks almost the same as when I applied it, actually, just a little faded. Despite its lasting time, it’s not all that difficult to take off. It does require eye makeup remover, but it almost comes completely off with one swipe.

They do have a waterproof version for anyone looking for better staying power, but I haven’t tried that one (Haven’t found a need to), so I can’t comment on the performance of that.

Now…another thing I love about Lancôme products.

It may be pricey, but their stuff seems to last forever. I’ve used my current pencil for a little over half a year now (maybe about 8 months?), and it’s pretty much the exact same size as it was when I first got it. Now, I only used it a few times a month, but that’s still pretty good. I’ve only had to sharpen it once. I may sharpen it again next time I use it.

Overall, a great product, if you’re feeling up to splurge. Or you have the money to spend on it.

Pros:

  • Elegant and simple, yet sturdy packaging
  • Glides on smoothly
  • Soft, doesn’t tug
  • Perfect for tight-lining
  • Creates nice, soft line
  • Easy to control how bold or soft line is
  • Easy to blend
  • Not easily smudged
  • Lasts pretty much all day
  • Easy to remove
  • Product lasts a long time

 

Cons:

  • Expensive
  • Needs to be sharpened
  • Smudges and fades slightly by end of day
  • Not fit for bold looks (Ex: Cat eyes)

Overall rating: 9/10

Would I repurchase? Yes.

Given how long this lasts, it’s worth it. I’ll keep re-buying this eyeliner (I rarely need to) until I find a really good dupe. Which has yet to happen. I’ve tried a few brands, but I always come back to this one. Of course, I only use this eye liner for fancy events or just special occasions in general, so I want to use a really nice eyeliner for these types of things. Other people might not. Again, if you have the money to spend, I suggest you give this a try. Or be like me: Wait for special promotions and get this liner (And some other nice stuff) for free with another purchase!

2 thoughts on “[Review] Lancôme Le Crayon Khôl Review

  1. Pingback: [Review] TonyMoly Lovely Eye Liner Pencil | delicatedesire

  2. Pingback: [Review] TheFaceShop Eyeliner Sharpener | delicatedesire

Leave a Reply

