[Review] Missha Time Revolution Aqua Youth Cream

As promised, a review! I got this sample a little while back and so this review is a little late, but at least it’s here now, right?

2014-06-22 14.09.12

Anyways, whenever I see that I’ve gotten some sort of anti-aging cream as a sample, I’m on the fence about whether or not I’m happy about it. While I love trying new things, these types of cream just aren’t for me and generally don’t seem to do much.

Well…let’s see if this cream was different.

It claims to “[provide] moisture to inside of skin deeply, and [create] clear face”. It’s also apparently “paraben free, mineral oil free, benzophenone free, alcohol free, and pigment free” (I’m going to refer to this as 5-free). Well…that part sounds pretty good. It also claims to have anti-wrinkle and brightening benefits, according to Missha’s US site. Its claim isn’t too impressive, but I suppose that just means it has less to live up to.

The consistency of this cream was pretty thin…it seemed more like a milky emulsion than an actual cream. It had an artificial perfume scent, which I didn’t particularly love, but it was subtle enough that it didn’t really bother me.

A little goes a pretty long way. You only need around a pea sized amount for your entire face. This is probably because of its thin consistency.

Since this cream was so runny, I thought that it would absorb quickly. I was both right and wrong. It did absorb quickly, but it left a sort of….film on top of my skin. That’s the best way I can think of to describe it.

This little sample packet was enough for me to use for about 6 days.

Well, it did moisturize. I would call it a light moisturizer, though. Perfect for the summer, but I wouldn’t recommend it for anyone with dry skin. It also didn’t make my skin any oilier, so that was good.

As a side note, though, though this might be nice for summer, I definitely wouldn’t reach for this during those harsh winter months. If you don’t have dry skin or dry patches at all, then maybe, but even then, I would be a little skeptical about it being adequate moisture for your skin.

Again, I can’t comment on the anti-wrinkle effects (And I won’t be able to for at least another decade or so). BUT I can comment on the brightening effect.

Well, at least the lack of.

So, this was just another basic light moisturizer. Nothing special about it. I suppose it being 5-free is pretty good news for those with sensitive skin, though.

Pros:

  • 5-Free
  • Little goes a long way
  • Absorbs quickly
  • Moisturizes without being too oily

 

Cons:

  • Artificial perfume scent
  • Leaves a slight film
  • Doesn’t brighten
  • Too light for winter or dry skin

 

Overall rating: 4/10

Would I purchase? No.

This cream was meh for me. I didn’t expect much, so I wasn’t too disappointed by it. Well, samples are always fun to try out, especially since they’re free. At least now that I’ve tried this cream, it eliminates the possibility of me ever being curious about this…so I can use my money on other things!

Leave a Reply

