[Review] A’Pieu Base Maker SPF37 PA++

Hello everyone! So I’m back with another review of a product I picked up on a whim a little while ago.

img_4138

So I needed a new BB cream and when I was browsing online, this came up for the low price of $4. I tried looking up reviews and couldn’t find any, and so I decided to try it out myself. Judging from the name, it seemed to be more like a primer of sorts, but it also had colour. I don’t need that much coverage, and this was really cheap, so I just went for it without really knowing anything about the product.

img_4139

Anyways, the shade that I got was 202 Light Beige. It comes in a small little squeeze tube, and is the size of a primer. I really like the packaging because it’s hygienic, and the little tip at the end makes it really easy to get a precise amount. On the downside, you’ll probably need to wipe it off after each use because it can get a little messy.

img_4140

I was a little worried, as I always am with online purchases of things like this, that the shade wouldn’t match my skin tone. Luckily for me, it was a pretty good match. It has the consistency and look of a BB cream. Unfortunately, there are only 3 shades online, and the shade range is very limited, as a lot of other Korean BB creams and concealers and such are.

img_4141

It blends out quite well, but when I swatched it on my hand, all it seemed to do was add that classic ‘dewy’ look and not much else so I was worried it’d do the same thing when applied on my face.

img_4142

However, on my face it did give it a dewy look, but it also evened out my skintone. This is definitely a light coverage product, which you can build up a little. It doesn’t feel too thick or heavy, which is great. I do have to add powder on top to minimize that dewy look, though. Not a big fan of that, since to me it just looks like my usual oily skin.

When I tried to blend my concealer on top, I had a little bit more trouble than usual because of the texture, but it was fine overall.

Of course, I didn’t expect this to have any oil control properties, but it didn’t make my skin oily faster like some BB creams that I’ve tried have done, so that’s good. When I blot, this also doesn’t all come off either.

I wore this out for about 12 hours, and by the end of the day it was actually still looking alright. It had faded a bit, but hadn’t completely disappeared or anything.

All in all, for that price, it’s pretty good.

Pros:

  • Cheap
  • Good packaging
  • Blends out well
  • Evens out skintone
  • Good lasting power

Cons:

  • Very limited shade range
  • Makes skin look a little oily after application
  • Concealer a little harder to blend on top

Overall rating: 8.5/10

Would I repurchase? Yes.

I’m quite happy with the product, especially at that price point. All I’m really looking for in a product is for it to even out my skintone, with a little bit of coverage, and this did that. It would have been nice if it hadn’t looked so dewy, but nothing a little powder can’t fix.

Leave a Reply

