[Review] Innisfree Jeju Volcanic Clay Mousse Mask (Original)

Hey guys! So a little while ago, as some of you guys may have seen on my Instagram post (@delicatedesire_), I went on a trip to Hong Kong and bought quite a few products while I was there. One of the things that I bought was this mask, since I had run out of my Holika Holika mask.

img_3337

(Sorry that the picture’s upside down…I can’t seem to figure out how to rotate it.)

I like to always have a mask for my pores on hand, and someone in the Innisfree store recommended this to me, so I decided to try it. It claims to be a “pore-purifying mask with micro clay mousse containing Jeju volcanic cluster to attach to excess sebum”. Not sure what they mean by that last part.

img_3338

The box got a little crushed in transport (As I’m sure you’ve noticed by now), but I just thought it was really cute that they had a little mountain over their barcode. Sorry for that sunlight…I probably should’ve retaken that.

img_3339

It’s packaged in a nice, sturdy metal canister. Like all Innisfree products, their packaging is clean and simple.

img_3340

Now, I usually like pumps because they’re a lot more hygienic, but in this case I’m not a fan. You have to push down a little harder than expected to dispense any product, but then it’s also difficult to control, so you have to be careful. The first few times I used this, I dispensed way too much on the first pump and things got messy fast.

img_3341

I also understand the purpose of that little cap there, but I wish I could snap it off or something. Whenever you put the cap back in after use, it pushes out some of the product, so that part of the pump has gotten messy fast. I’ve learned that you need to scrape out some product from the inside of the opening before putting that cap back in.

It’s also troublesome when you dispense the product, because the flap is fairly short so it gets in the way. You have to push it back while simultaneously pushing to dispense the product. I’m probably just going to cut it off or something.

img_3342

The product itself is the colour and consistency of your basic clay mask. Gray and thick. The scent isn’t strong, but there is a faint clay smell present.

It feels nice and cooling the moment you put it on, and then dries fairly quickly. I don’t feel as much of a tightening effect with this mask as I did with the Holika Holika one, but I do feel a bit.

I usually leave this on for about 20 minutes before washing it off. This doesn’t do anything for my acne like my Holika Holika mask did, but it never claimed to.

After washing the mask off, my pores definitely look smaller, and my skin looks and feels matte and noticeably smoother. My skin also doesn’t feel tight or dry at all.

The effect is still present the next day, but by the third day my skin had mostly returned back to normal. I find that’s the case with a lot of pore care masks, though. However, I did also notice that my skin was less oily the next day.

In regards to that part of the claim about attaching to excess sebum, even after using it, not sure what they meant. Perhaps they meant it would mattify my skin? Because, if so, it definitely did do that.

All in all, a pretty good product.

Pros:

  • Sturdy packaging
  • Pores looked smaller after use
  • Mattifies skin
  • Skin less oily the next day
  • Skin looks and feels smoother
  • Skin doesn’t feel tight or dry after use

Cons:

  • Messy packaging
  • Hard to control amount dispensed

Overall rating: 9/10

Would I repurchase? Yes.

As you can see, my only real complaints are about the packaging. I would definitely buy this again, though. This will especially be a nice product to have during the summer, when my skin is oilier.

Leave a Reply

