[Review] TheFaceShop Jeju Volcanic Lava Peel-Off Clay Nose Mask

Hi everyone! So I’ve tried out quite a few pore strips, but still have yet to find one that I really love. I had read about peel-off ones, and when I saw this on sale decided to give it a try.

img_4081

The packaging for this is quite plain…I got this for about $7. I think it’s regularly something like $15?

img_4082

There are some pretty simple instructions on the back there.

img_4083

It’s a squeeze tube, which I like because it’s easy to use. Not sure if you can really see it, but there’s aluminum underneath the cap so you can be sure it hasn’t been touched before you bought it.

img_4084

I was a little surprised by the consistency. It’s very thick, and has almost a semi-dry glue sort of consistency. Not quite sure how to describe it, but it’s quite sticky so it can get a little messy.

The first time I used this, I applied a little too much and even 25 minutes later there were parts of the mask that hadn’t fully dried, so obviously that wasn’t very effective. The second time I used less, and it took a little under 20 minutes to fully dry. You can get a lot of uses out of one tube, so the value is better than regular pore strips.

I really like how you don’t have to be worried about the mask being too big or small for your nose. I also have blackheads on my cheeks near my nose that some pore strips can’t get, so this was nice for that.

I had a read a lot of reviews saying peel-off masks hurt a lot to peel off, so I was a little concerned, but this honestly wasn’t too bad. It was a little harder to peel, but didn’t hurt more than a regular pore strip. You have to be more careful with this though, since it can tear.

I’m sad to say this wasn’t very effective. It pulled out some sebum, but it mostly pulled out little hairs.

I’ll probably use the tube up, but won’t be repurchasing it.

Pros:

  • Easy to use packaging
  • Good value
  • Basically like a customizable pore strip

Cons:

  • A little messy
  • Not very effective

Overall rating: 5.5/10

Would I repurchase? No.

So my curiosity hasn’t been satisfied…but disappointed by the results. Or lack thereof. Guess I’ll just keep hunting for the perfect pore strip. I suppose I can use this in between more effective strips.

Leave a Reply

