[Review] Too Faced Melted Liquified Long Wear Lipstick

Hey everyone! So today I’m back with a review of a cute mini that I got for Christmas…the Too Faced Melted Lipsticks! I’ve been eyeing these for a while, so I’m really happy that I got a mini to try out.

img_4060

I got this in Melted Berry. The packaging, as you can see, is honestly adorable. And the size is perfect for someone like me, who loves trying different lip products and so takes forever to use one up. The full-size is $25CDN, which has made me hesitant to buy it though.

img_4061

The actual squeeze tube is basically a mini version of the full size…I found it funny how the cap was as long as the tube of product itself. I find tubes really convenient, which is another reason I wanted to try this product.

img_4062

Anyways, the tube looked more like a deep berry colour, and the squeeze applicator is nice but also not. Let me explain…it’s pretty precise and easy to use. However, it absorbs product, which I find to be kind of a waste. I also had a bit of a hard time controlling how much came out of it, so the first two or three times I used it a bit too much came out and I didn’t quite know what to do. I also hope the sponge doesn’t become a little worn with use, like with my Etude House tint.

img_4063

It swatches more pink than the tube looks, but I still think it’s a very pretty berry colour. Definitely something I’d buy for myself. I’m pretty sure I actually considered getting this colour.

img_4115

As you can see, the colour is pretty pigmented. All I need is one coat and I’m good to go.

This has a slightly glossy finish, and feels very light on the lips. It also doesn’t settle into lip lines or highlight dry patches, which is great. It feels pretty creamy on the lips as well.

After about 6 hours, this has noticeably faded, which is alright. I expected more out of it, since it’s called a long wear lipstick and the full-size is pretty pricey, but maybe that’s just me. I own quite a few products that last all day, so I had hoped this one would, as well.

However, what bothers me the most about this lipstick is the way it wears away. It looks like it wears away evenly…until you smile. I don’t quite know how to describe it, but it’s like all the colour cracks and lines in your lips, so when you smile it sort of looks like the lipstick has cracked.

I tried applying a thinner layer another time, and it was less of a problem, but there were still some cracks here and there.

Reapplication is really simple though, so it’s not a huge problem, but I’d prefer if it didn’t do that. Especially for a product at that price tag.

Pros:

  • Nice and convenient packaging
  • Precise applicator
  • Pretty colour
  • Feels light on the lips
  • Pigmented
  • Doesn’t settle into lines or highlight dry patches
  • Decent wear time
  • Easy to reapply

Cons:

  • Pricey
  • Sponge absorbs product
  • Doesn’t wear away evenly

Overall rating: 8.5/10

Would I repurchase? Probably not.

While I’m glad I finally got to try this out, I’ll probably skip out on the full-size. It’s quite pricey as well, so I think I actually prefer the Etude House one I mentioned earlier to this one. However, the colour is really pretty and I do like the product (Just not enough to pay $25 for a full-size), so I will continue using it.

Leave a Reply

