[Review] Pony Effect Stayfit Matte Lip Color

Hello everyone! So today I’m reviewing a product that I’ve been eyeing for a really long time now…Pony Effect’s liquid lipstick!

img_4263

So I love watching Pony’s videos, and have wanted to try some of her products for a while now, but they’re a little harder to purchase in Canada since Memebox doesn’t ship here. They’re also a little pricey for me, but when I saw the shades in her Stayfit Matte Lip Color line, I just had to get one.

img_4264

The shade in particular that caught my eye was #So Good. It was a colour that was like no other that I owned, and honestly looked gorgeous in the swatches. I’ve also wanted to try a purple for a while, but wanted to start with something that wasn’t too crazy, so I decided to go ahead and get it through Testerkorea. The total came up to around $27 (With shipping), making it the most expensive lipstick I currently own.

img_4265

I was a little worried that the colour wouldn’t turn out exactly like the site, so when it came I was extremely happy to see that, at least in the tube, it looked true to the colours shown in the official pictures.

The packaging is simple and classy. It’s clear, so you can see the colour and how much product you have, with a rose gold cap and lettering.

img_4266

It has a typical doe foot applicator, which I like.

16935537_10154536221243406_1073992936_o

It looks a little pinker in the pictures than in real life…in real life it looks more purple. I basically walked around until I found good lighting for a more accurate swatch….this was the best I could do. I don’t know why, but it’s difficult to get the exact colour in pictures.

When applied, it’s true to the colour in the bottle. It’s a little difficult to describe the exact colour. It’s pretty close to the pictures on the site, except when applied on me it takes on a little bit more a grey undertone…? That’s about the best I can do. But the colour is honestly so pretty (The name is quite fitting for it), and a shade I don’t see much. Especially not in the Korean beauty world.

It goes on really nice and smooth, and dries matte. It feels quite light on the lips, but there is a little bit of tackiness in the first hour or two of wear. The pigmentation is also really good. It is definitely a full coverage product.

After about 4 hours (With eating and drinking), it begins to fade, but not a lot. I usually wear this for about 8 hours (With eating and drinking) before I have to reapply, so the lasting power is pretty good. And the only reason I reapply is because it has faded on the inside of my lips. Otherwise, the colour looks fine. And there’s no problem with reapplication, either.

Once you reapply, though, it’s good for the rest of the day. So what usually happens is I put this on in the morning, then if I’m going out in the evening, I reapply in the late afternoon and then it’s fine for the rest of the night.

This does transfer a little bit, but not a lot, so I’m fine with that.

All in all, glad I shelled out the money for this product.

Pros:

  • Nice packaging
  • Beautiful colour
  • Applies nicely
  • Dries matte
  • Light on lips
  • Good pigmentation
  • Good lasting time
  • No problem with reapplication

Cons:

  • Difficult to get
  • Pricey
  • A little bit of tackiness during first hour or two of wear
  • Fades on inside of lips with eating and drinking

Overall rating: 9/10

Would I repurchase? Yes.

In fact, I’m already eyeing some of the other colours in the eye. Specifically #On Fleek, another colour which is rare in the Korean beauty world. To be honest, I’m a little bit disappointed it doesn’t last *all* day like some of my other products, especially for that price, but the gorgeous colour and other good points make up for that. And the lasting power is quite good, I’m just very lazy when it comes to reapplication.

Leave a Reply

