[Review] TonyMoly Luminous Live Aura CC Cream SPF30 PA++

Hello, everyone! I’ve had quite a bit of free time lately, so I thought that I might as well fit in a few reviews before I got too busy again. Enjoy!

2014-06-04 21.43.07

I got this CC cream as a sample with one of my orders. I’m always excited to try out new CC and BB creams, as I’m always looking for one with good coverage that doesn’t turn my face ghost white.

I was a little intimidated by this CC cream at first because,as you can see from the product oozing out of the top of the packet, it looks sort of pink. Definitely not what I expected.

As you rub it into skin, though, it turns beige. Which was a relief (I obviously didn’t expect it to stay pink, though…I just wasn’t quite sure what colour it would turn out to be).

It’s nice that this CC cream has SPF, though. Sun protection is always a good thing. However, I’ve found that foundations with SPF tend to make you look more pale in photos, especially in bright light….so beware.

It was also pretty runny compared to other foundations I tried, which I disliked. That does mean you don’t need as much to cover your face as you would with foundations with thicker consistencies, though.

This CC cream has sheer coverage. It’ll help even out skin tone and cover up redness, but it doesn’t really cover acne or pigmentation (Such as acne scars) all that well. You’ll definitely need a good concealer over this.

Unlike a lot of other BB and CC creams I’ve tried, though, this doesn’t make you look sickly pale. It’s sheer, but it looks natural, even in bright sunlight or under bright lights.

This gives your skin a bit of a dewy glow, but not as much as most BB creams that I’ve tried. It’s just a little bit, but it’s definitely there.

This actually made my skin oilier, faster. That nice, dewy glow quickly turned into a shiny mess. Nothing a few blotting papers couldn’t fix, of course, but I wasn’t very happy about that.

By the end of the day, this CC cream had faded substantially. There was barely any coverage, so it was pretty easy to wash off (As most of it had already worn off). This may have been because of my oily skin, despite the fact I set it with both powder and makeup setting spray in the morning.

All in all…not my favourite, but I didn’t hate it, either.

Pros:

  • Has SPF
  • Evens out skin tone
  • Conceals redness
  • Doesn’t make you look pale
  • Natural looking
  • Dewy glow

 

Cons:

  • Runny
  • Sheer coverage (Doesn’t conceal acne or pigmentation very well)
  • Made skin oilier
  • Doesn’t last all day

 

Overall rating: 6/10

Would I purchase? Probably not.

As much as I liked the natural finish of this CC cream, I disliked the oiliness and short wear time. Plus, I prefer something with medium consistency to cover up my acne scars and for when I break out. For somebody with fairly clear skin that isn’t oily, though, this might be worth a try. I’m glad I got a sample of it, though. Now I won’t be tempted to reach for the full-size version no matter what rave reviews I read.

Leave a Reply

