[Review] Colourpop Ultra Satin Lip

It’s New Year’s Eve…can’t believe another year has passed already. For the last review of the year, I’ve saved one of my new HG lip products…Colourpop’s Ultra Satin Lip!

img_3778

I’ve been meaning to try Colourpop for a while, but didn’t want to pay for shipping, so when they had a free shipping event I, of course, had to get on board! I ordered 3 different Ultra Satin Lips (At only $6 USD each, I couldn’t resist): Frick N’ Frack, Lock Diary and The Rabbit. To save time, I’m just going to review them all in one post instead of in separate posts. It’s going to be a long post though, so hang in there guys!

img_3782

I am going to review the colours separate though, because they do apply/wear a little differently.

First up, Frick N’ Frack (FNF)!

img_3707

So this colour looks and swatches like NYX’s “Exotic” (From their Lip Lingerie line), but looks different when on the lips…and doesn’t really look like the pictures on their site either. On my lips at least, it looks more like a mauve-y brown. It’s a very nice colour, but not quite what I had expected…I have come to really like it though, since I don’t own anything like it.

img_3697

As you’ll see with my later Colourpop reviews, this was one of a few of the products I ordered that didn’t look like the pictures on their site…

img_3710

Anyways, this is a full coverage lip product and looks pretty matte on the lips. The brush is pretty easy to use, though not exactly my favourite. I find it a little awkward to use around my Cupid’s bow area.

img_3711

All 3 Ultra Satin Lips apply like a dream. Very smooth and not heavy at all. It doesn’t make your lips feel really dry either, or highlight any dry patches or lines.

The wear time for this is pretty good. It doesn’t start to fade until around the 6 hour mark. However, it fades from both the inside and outside, which is definitely something I’ve never experienced from any other lip product.

No matter how long I wear it, though, it still feels slightly tacky…it never completely dries down. It also transfers like crazy. To avoid repeating myself, this is the case for all of the Ultra Satin Lips I ordered.

Another thing is that this product feathers soooo much. It literally leaves a ring around my lips. It starts feathering around 4 hours, and by the 8 hour mark it’s basically a ring around my lips, especially with the fading.

Re-application is great though, so other than the unexpected colour (Which I like, but still…not quite what I expected when I ordered) and feathering, love this product.

Next is Lock Diary (LD).

img_3779

The moment I saw the packaging, I just knew I had to have it. I love Hello Kitty and I love bright pinks…so this was the perfect pairing for me.

img_3780

Unlike the last one, this looks pretty much the same as in the swatches on the site, just a bit more on the pink side.

img_3787

This one is so incredibly pigmented. I don’t even need to dip back into the product once during application, that’s literally how great it is.

img_3781

The wear time for this is amazing too. It can go for about 12 hours with no fading, although around 6-8 hours it does start to crumble a little on the inside. There is also a little bit of feathering, but it’s tolerable…nowhere near as bad a Frick N’ Frack.

Plus, the colour is absolutely gorgeous. It can be a little difficult to remove, though.

Finally, The Rabbit (TR).

img_3785

The moment I put it on, I knew it was going to be one of my absolute favourite lip colours. It is a gorgeous bright pink with some subtle blue shimmer….the pictures really don’t do it justice. It’s so pretty in person.

img_3783

I tried to take a picture to better show the blue shimmer but, like I said, the pictures really don’t do it justice.

img_3786

You might need two coats to get full coverage, but it goes on so smoothly. And doesn’t feel heavy on the lips at all. This looks almost exactly like the picture on the site. This formula also feels slightly creamier than the previous two.

img_3788

The blue shimmer is incredibly subtle, but the longer you wear it (And the more it dries down, even though it never fully dries down) the more obvious it becomes…from different angles and lighting, this looks like slightly different colours, which I absolutely love. The blue shimmer adds a dimension that makes it really stand out from every other bright pink I’ve ever tried (And I’ve tried quite a few, if I do say so myself).

img_3784

The wear time for this is amazing as well. 16 hours later it’s still going strong (Though my lips feel really dry, it still looks great though), though starting at about 8 hours a dark line appears on the inside of my lips. I also don’t experience any feathering with this one.

I’ve gotten so many compliments about this colour…definitely a holy grail product.

Pros:

  • Cheap
  • Pigmented
  • Long-lasting
  • Beautiful and unique colours
  • Adorable packaging (LD)
  • Easy re-application
  • Doesn’t highlight dry patches or settle into fine lines
  • Not drying
  • Doesn’t feather (TR)

Cons:

  • Colours can look different from pictures on the site
  • Feathers like crazy (FNF)
  • Fades in a weird way (FNF)
  • Never fully dries down
  • Transfers like crazy
  • Crumbles on the inside of lips after some time (LD)
  • Can be a little difficult to remove (LD)

Overall rating: 7.5/10 (FNF), 8.5/10 (LD), 9.5/10 (TR)

Would I repurchase? Most definitely!

It’s always a little bit of a gamble with online shopping of any kind, because what you see might not be what you get…but these are definitely worth it. I’m actually already considering purchasing a few more. To anybody on the fence about trying Colourpop, I definitely say give them a chance. And for those of you that like brights like me…I highly recommend The Rabbit!

Leave a Reply

