[Review] Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion

So, if you guys have been following me on Instagram (@delicatedesire_), then you might have seen the pictures of the little beauty bag full of samples I got from Sephora a few days ago, one of which was the Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion in Original, which I’ve heard so much about.

img_3809

I don’t use eyeshadow that much (I like to keep my daily makeup as simply as possible), so this is actually the perfect size for me. And can we take a moment to appreciate how adorable this packaging is?

img_3810

Anyways, moving on to the actual product…when you squeeze it out, it’s a nude colour and you only need a little bit for both your eyelids. It helps even out the colour of your eyelids, which is definitely something I look for in a primer.

img_3811

After applying, I let it set for about 30 seconds before applying eyeshadow and I definitely noticed a difference in pigmentation. I was using the NYX eyeshadows I bought recently, which are already quite pigmented, but this definitely intensified the colours.

However, what totally blew me away though was the lasting power. 8 hours after application, my eye makeup looked almost exactly like it did when I applied it. I feel like some of the colour on the outer edges that I had blended out more faded a tiny bit, but that was about it.

And, best of all, this totally controls oil. I have oily eyelids, and an oily t-zone in general, but what was amazing was that literally every part of my face that was usually oily had gotten oily by the end of the night…except my eyelids. There has never been a primer or powder that has been able to control the oil on my face to this extent.

Needless to say, I can definitely understand the hype surrounding this product. However, considering how little I actually use eyeshadow, I don’t think I could justify the $26 price tag for the full-size product…

Pros:

  • Nice packaging
  • Evens out colour of eyelids
  • Makes eyeshadows look more pigmented
  • Makes eyeshadow last longer
  • Amazing oil control

Cons:

  • Pricey

Overall Rating: 9/10

Would I Purchase? Unfortunately, probably not.

I would definitely recommend this to anybody looking for a really good eyeshadow primer and wouldn’t mind splurging a little. However, as for myself, this little tube will probably last me a good while. And, while I probably won’t ever purchase the full-size, when Sephora is giving out mini samples with purchases, I might just place an order to get another one.

Leave a Reply

