[Review] Beyond Alice in Blooming Two Tone Lipstick

Hey everyone! So I’m back today with another review…as some of you guys know, I am a huge sucker for packaging, so when I saw this super pretty Alice in Wonderland lipstick I just had to get it.

img_2876

So, as you guys can see, even the box is really pretty…I love ‘Alice in Wonderland’ so I simply couldn’t resist getting something from this collection. This was about $15, which isn’t too expensive.

img_2877

There are a bunch of really cute illustrations on the box, so I couldn’t help but take a few pictures.

img_2878

The expiry date is also printed at the side of the box, which is super helpful for people like me who can never remember how long I’ve had a lip product…

img_2881

Anyways, I got this in the colour 01, which is a nice red.

img_2879

The tube itself is really cute as well, and actually doesn’t feel cheap despite the plastic look. It feels quite sturdy, which I like.

img_2880

So here’s a picture of the ‘two tone’ part of this lipstick…isn’t it just so pretty? Though it’s called a lipstick, this looks more like a tinted balm to me so I was a little worried about pigmentation.

However, the pigmentation is actually pretty nice. It feels really nice and smooth on my lips, and one swipe is just enough to get a nice red colour onto my lips without it feeling like too much. This has a slightly glossy finish, and the colour is buildable as well. This is also decently moisturizing, which is definitely a bonus.

img_2883

Another thing I love about this is that it applies really evenly, and doesn’t highlight dry patches or settle into fine lines, which is a pet peeve of mine when it comes to lipsticks.

As you can see from the swatch, that lighter part in the middle does leave a sort of streak…while it’s pretty to look at, it’s a little annoying in application because you have to kind of blend the streak out every time you apply it. After a couple uses, the red also blends into the centre so it doesn’t look quite as nice.

The lasting power of this lipstick is what really blew me away. Because it was moisturizing, I assumed it’d come off pretty easily but, to my surprise, it didn’t!

It does begin to fade after 3 hours, but it leaves a nice red stain behind. Once you re-apply, you’re pretty much good for the rest of the day as well. And when you re-apply, it goes on just as evenly as the initial application, which is great. However, the colour will get brighter with re-application, but I don’t mind that especially since it means I’ll have nice red lips for the whole day!

And I say ‘for the rest of the day’ because after the 2nd re-application, the colour doesn’t noticeably fade until about 8 hours later…which, like I said before, was definitely a pleasant surprise.

All in all, great packaging along with a great product, so there’s not much to complain about.

Pros:

  • Pretty and sturdy packaging
  • Expiration date printed on box
  • Nice pigmentation
  • Colour buildable
  • Applies evenly
  • Decently moisturizing
  • Good lasting power

Cons:

  • Lighter part in the middle leaves a streak when applied

Overall rating: 9.5/10

Would I repurchase? Definitely.

This is honestly the perfect lipstick for those mornings when you’re in a rush because you can just apply this and go. I have found myself using this quite a lot in the past little while. Not only does this have good lasting power, but it is also somewhat moisturizing, and I feel like that’s the best I’m going to get. Plus, the colour’s really nice so what more could I ask for?

Leave a Reply

