[Review] Etude House Rosy Tint Lips

Hi everyone! So, if you follow me on Instagram (@delicatedesire_), you’ve probably seen a picture or two with this lip tint…it’s one that I’ve found myself reaching for quite a lot nowadays. I got this in shade #8 (After Blossom).

img_2966

I’ve been eyeing this lip tint for quite a while now, but was always a little hesitant to get it because of other reviews I’ve read which say the packaging is awkwardly stiff (i.e. it’s a little difficult to get the product out) and it’s quite drying. I finally decided to get it when I was browsing around an Etude House in Hong Kong and swatched it…the colour was so pretty I just had to get it.

img_2965

In the promotional pictures, this looks like a very pretty deep berry sort of colour. In real life, it’s a little more red than I expected, but still a very pretty colour. And one that I didn’t own yet, which I was very happy about.

img_2967

The packaging is quite simple…it’s just a tube (The colour of the tint, which makes it easy to identify) with a screw on cap and a sponge tip that you can use to create a gradient lip.

Like other reviews have pointed out, the packaging is a little stiff, which makes the tint a little hard to squeeze out. I imagine that it’ll be even more difficult to squeeze out once you’re nearing the end.

I also have a problem with the sponge tip sometimes screwing off. It’s pretty easy to screw back on, but it’s a little annoying.

The sponge itself also gets dirty pretty easily, and I can’t really think of a way to clean it. I’ve used it probably about a dozen times now, and I feel like it may be starting to get a little worn as well…however, it is pretty useful for creating a gradient. As expected, the sponge does absorb a little of the product though.

Onto the actual product…though I don’t have many good things to say about the packaging, besides that it’s simple and cute, I am in love with the tint itself.

img_2968

As you can see from the swatch above, the colour is really pretty, and it has pretty good pigmentation as well. I usually squeeze out some product onto the centre of my lips and spread it out using the sponge, which makes for a really pretty, wearable look. The colour’s also buildable, so you can definitely go full-on with the colour as well.

The colour dries to a matte finish and, while it is a little drying, it’s honestly nothing too bad. For a matte product especially.

There is a nice rose scent that’s not too artificial and not too strong, at least for me it wasn’t, but it may bother some people.

My favourite part about this tint is that once it’s on, it’s on pretty much for good. There isn’t that much transfer, and I’ve worn this tint out from morning until night, and it has only faded slightly. It also fades evenly, which is great.

This tint is also pretty easy to apply. Just squeeze out a little product and spread it with the sponge. Another bonus is that it doesn’t settle into lines or really highlight dry patches on your lips.

So, while I’m not a big fan of the packaging for various reasons, the product itself more than makes up for that.

Pros:

  • Sponge tip useful for creating gradient lips
  • Pretty colour
  • Good pigmentation
  • Buildable
  • Matte finish
  • Lasts basically all day
  • Not much transfer
  • Fades evenly
  • Doesn’t settle into lines or really highlight dry patches

Cons:

  • Packaging a little stiff
  • Sponge gets dirty easily
  • Sponge tip sometimes comes off with cap
  • Sponge absorbs some of product

Overall rating: 9/10

Would I repurchase? Definitely.

In fact, I’m already considering getting #7 (Tea Rose). This is a tint that I’d recommend to basically anyone who is into gradient lips and/or matte lips. All of the colours are really pretty and the only downside really is the packaging…I think that the product itself is great.

One thought on “[Review] Etude House Rosy Tint Lips

  1. Pingback: [Review] Too Faced Melted Liquified Long Wear Lipstick | delicatedesire

Leave a Reply

