[Review] Make Up Beauty The Queen Lip Crayon

Hello everyone! So today I’ll be reviewing this dirt cheap lip crayon that I got in China…there are some spelling errors here and there, and I was a little suspicious of the quality, but for the price, I decided to give it a try.

img_2860

So I got this lip crayon for 10RMB at Miniso, which is super cheap. I swatched the colour and it felt smooth and the colour was quite pigmented and pretty, so I figured I’d give it a try. I got this in #05.

The packaging looks quite nice, except for the spelling error…nothing too major, though. It does feel a little cheap, but I didn’t expect much because of the low price. It is convenient to carry around, though. I do feel like the plastic cap would crack the moment you drop into onto any hard surface, but that seems to be the case with most kinds of clear plastic caps like this.

img_2861

The colour is a really pretty bright red with a hint of pink (It looks pinker in the picture than it actually is…sorry about that). As you can see from the swatch, it goes on really nice and pigmented, and has some shine.

Lip crayons are super easy to apply, which is why I really like using them. I do wonder what I’m going to do once the tip starts to get dull, though. But, for now, it’s quite precise. I also really like the twist mechanism.

The colour glides on nice and evenly and, again, is pigmented and has a glossy finish. It doesn’t highlight dry patches, but it does settle into fine lines somewhat. It feels nice and smooth on the lips, but isn’t actually moisturizing…it’s more like a layer on top of your lips. It doesn’t dry them out though, which is definitely a good thing. It looks really nice on the lips, and I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this lip crayon, considering the price.

It does have a bit of a scent, which is somewhat difficult to describe…it kind of smells like an actual wax crayon? It’s not very strong, but I definitely did smell it while I was applying it, and it wasn’t exactly pleasant. Just something that I thought I’d mention.

One bad thing about this, though, is that it never truly sets. It kind of slips and slides on your lips a bit, and when I press my lips together after applying this, a little does end up outside of my lip line. Nothing too bad though, I suppose.

The lasting power of this is alright. You have to re-apply about once every three hours, and after eating or drinking, which is pretty typical. This also transfers like crazy…there were red lip prints all over my cups when I wore this. It does leave behind a slight stain, but it fades unevenly, so the stain ends up being uneven as well.

Overall, this lip crayon was actually really good quality for the price I paid. Sadly, I think you can only get these at Miniso.

Pros:

  • Extremely cheap
  • Pretty colour
  • Convenient
  • Precise and easy to apply
  • Glides on
  • Pigmented
  • Glossy finish
  • Not drying
  • Doesn’t highlight dry patches

Cons:

  • Packaging feels cheap
  • Settles into fine lines somewhat
  • Not moisturizing
  • Wax crayon-like scent
  • Slides around on lips
  • Transfers onto everything
  • Fades unevenly

Overall rating: 8/10

Would I repurchase? Yes.

This was definitely worth what I paid…I was pleasantly surprised with the pigmentation and overall quality. The colour is really pretty as well, so not much I can really complain about.

Leave a Reply

