[Review] Innisfree Glossy Lip Lacquer

Hello everyone! So today I’m going to be reviewing a product that I recently started using…this Innisfree lip gloss!

IMG_1012

Though the name also has the words ‘lip lacquer’ in it, this product really does feel more like a gloss than anything to me. But more on that in a bit.

IMG_1006

I got this in the shade Plum Burgundy (05) which, in the promotional pictures, looks like a nice, plummy pink sort of colour.

The packaging is simple, but convenient to carry around. However, like their Creammellow lipstick, the white cap gets dirty really easily. When I peeled the label off, it left all kinds of sticky gunk on the cap, and you can still clearly see it.

Anyways, moving on. The colour is a very pretty plum shade in the bottle and, if you look closely, there are blue sparkles in it. I didn’t expect it, but it’s nothing too crazy.

IMG_1010

This has a typical doe foot applicator, which makes it pretty easy to apply.

Here’s a swatch…my camera refused to focus on the actual swatch, but I think you guys can get an idea of what it looks like.

Though it looks dark in the bottle and in the swatch, it’s actually fairly sheer when applied, which was kind of disappointing. When applied, the colour is a nice plummy pink, like in the promotional pictures, just not nearly as pigmented.  The blue shimmer isn’t really that noticeable on the lips, unless you look closely….however, even after removing all of the colour and gloss, you can still see some shimmer on your lips, which is a little annoying to me.

This also feels kind of sticky on the lips…nothing too bad, but sticky enough that your hair would definitely stick to it on a windy day. This definitely feels like a sheer gloss to me.

It also goes on kind of streaky and uneven, which isn’t the greatest. After applying it straight from the applicator, I usually have to go over it with my fingers a little to even it out. However, the colour (Even if it is sheer) doesn’t settle into lines or anything, and doesn’t get patchy with re-application. This is something you can just apply in the morning and then go…no need for exfoliating or anything.

The wear time of this gloss is about 3 hours, and there’s a slight stain for about an hour after that.

I don’t really like this gloss when worn alone, but I did discover that it is absolutely amazing for layering on top of, well…pretty much any of my lipsticks.

My favourite thing to do with this gloss is combine it with my lipsticks…it makes any colour a little darker and adds a hint of plum, which looks absolutely gorgeous when combined with my pink reds and plum lipsticks.

I also have a few lipsticks I’ve never worn because I thought the shade was too light and washed me out, and this lipgloss fixes that, which is great. Another good thing about it is that, when layered on top of lipsticks that settle into lines and what not, it does a decent job of camouflaging the unevenness of the lip colour underneath while adding a nice shine.

So, while I initially didn’t like this lipgloss, it has become a sort of must-have for me. It’s the perfect top coat for any lip colour.

Pros:

  • Simple and convenient packaging
  • Easy to apply
  • Doesn’t settle into lines
  • Perfect for mixing with lipsticks
  • Good top coat for lip colours

Cons:

  • Cap gets dirty easily
  • Sheerer than expected
  • Goes on streaky and uneven

Overall rating: 8.5/10

Would I repurchase? Yes.

This gloss has definitely become a necessary part of my lip colour collection…with this one gloss, I have a bunch of new colours, and it also saves lipsticks that I previously deemed unwearable. While I don’t think I’d get the other colours, this is one I would repurchase when I run out.

Leave a Reply

