[Review] Ameli Platlips

Hello again everyone! So today I’ll be reviewing a lip tint that I’ve been really loving lately, and that’s quite different from the other colours I own….Ameli’s Platlips in the shade Vampire (914).

IMG_1013

I knew I had to have this shade from the moment I saw it…it’s a deep, bloody red shade that I fell in love with almost instantly. Most of the other lip colours I own are all pinks or bright reds, so I really wanted to try out a darker colour like this.

IMG_1014

I got this for about $12 (Shipping not included), which isn’t too bad. A little pricey compared to other Korean lip tints I have, though.

IMG_1015

The packaging is simple, but still adorable. I especially liked the bright pink inside the box…it was like a little surprise when I opened it.

IMG_1017

This fits in the palm of my hand and is very sturdy, so I can just throw it in my purse for reapplications. However, I’m not a big fan of applying things with my fingers (Especially tints) and I don’t want to carry a lip brush around, either, so I’m on the fence about the practicality of the packaging. It’s not the most hygienic, but it looks nice and is easy to carry around.

1344235660

In the promotional pictures, it shows the tint as having almost a liquid lipstick sort of consistency, which is definitely not the case, as you can see here. It’s more like a solid lip balm…you have to rub your finger on it a bit to warm it up before you really get colour. The best way to describe it would be that it has a bit of a waxy texture, I suppose…?

IMG_1019

This colour as described as being “not red, but reddish!” and “the colour of a hurt petal”. If it weren’t for the pictures, I think I would’ve had a hard time imagining what shade this was.

IMG_1024

The colour is a little darker in real life than in the picture…it literally looks like blood when swatched on my arm.

On my lips, it’s a deep, bloody red, which is pretty much exactly what I’m looking for. It’s such a pretty colour. The name “Vampire” really does suit this shade. It does have a little shine when applied, but not much.

However, this does goes on a little patchy…it’s not as creamy as I expected it to be, so that might be why. It’s a little difficult to spread, but it does have pretty good pigmentation. You do need to exfoliate beforehand, though…while it doesn’t settle into lines, it does highlight dry patches.

It’s not drying, but it’s not moisturizing either. It feels very comfortable on the lips. I find that I don’t need to apply lip balm or anything until about an hour or two after I’ve applied this tint.

My biggest issue about applying this with my fingers, though, is that it does stain my fingers. And, again, it’s not the most hygienic method of application.

This has pretty good lasting power…unfortunately, it doesn’t last all day, but I can usually go about 6 hours (With eating and drinking) before I need to reapply. And this also fades evenly, which is good. This does transfer a little, but definitely not as much as a lot of my lipsticks do.

Overall, I am really liking this tint. Gorgeous colour, feels nice on the lips and lasts a good amount of time…there’s not much else I could ask for, really.

Pros:

  • Sturdy and simple packaging
  • Gorgeous colour
  • Good pigmentation
  • Doesn’t settle into lip lines
  • Feels comfortable on lips
  • Good lasting power
  • Fades evenly
  • Doesn’t transfer that much

Cons:

  • Has to be applied with fingers or a lip brush
  • Goes on a little patchy
  • A little difficult to spread
  • Highlights dry patches

Overall rating: 8.5/10

Would I repurchase? Yes.

This is a tint that I’ve found myself reaching for again and again…and I already have my eye on a few other colours from this line. They have quite a few unusual colours (Like yellow), but also lots of pretty pink and red shades, as well. I can definitely see myself purchasing more of these in the future.

3 thoughts on “[Review] Ameli Platlips

  1. Pingback: [Review] TonyMoly Liptone Get It Tint | delicatedesire

Leave a Reply

