[Review] TheFaceShop Tear Shine Smudge Proof Gel Pencil

Hello everyone! So I have another review for you guys, and this time it’s an eye product, which I haven’t done in a while. An eyeliner, to be specific.

IMG_0382

I wanted to get a beige sort of colour to line my waterline, since I think white is a little too harsh, and saw this on sale, so decided to get it. I believe it’s usually somewhere around $10 each, which isn’t too bad. I got it for around $4, though.

IMG_0383

I got this in the shade Champagne Glitz (02). Sorry for the blurriness…my camera refused to focus on the actual pencil for some reason. The shade selection isn’t bad, but all the shades are glittery. I expected that with the name ‘tear shine’, though.

This isn’t self-sharpening, so you do end up wasting some of the product, but it was cheap enough that I was okay with it.

IMG_1395

The colour is really pretty…in the light, it looks more like a gold colour, but generally it just looks like a nice, natural looking colour to line the waterline with. It’s fairly glittery, though. It’s also fairly pigmented. One swipe is all you need.

IMG_1402

This pencil also glides on really nice and smoothly, which I love. It doesn’t pull or tug at all. And, once it’s on, it really does stay put. It doesn’t smudge, and it’s waterproof as well. The picture above is after I put my arm under running water, and then rubbed it. It didn’t budge at all.

By the way, most of the glitter in the picture is not actually from the eyeliner. I swatched a glittery eyeshadow next to it (Which I will review soon), and when I rinsed it the glitter got everywhere. Sorry about that…

Anyways, I rubbed the eyeliner swatch while it was dry, and the glitter didn’t spread. Once wet, it did spread a little, but not much.

The lasting power of this is really good as well. I wore this out for an entire day, and it still looked really good by the end of the day. There was no noticeable fading or smudging, which I really liked.

Overall, this eyeliner has become one of my favourites.

Pros:

  • Reasonable price
  • Pretty colours
  • Pigmented
  • Glides on smoothly
  • Doesn’t smudge
  • Waterproof
  • Lasts all day

Cons:

  • All shades are glittery
  • Not self-sharpening

Overall rating: 9.5/10

Would I repurchase? Definitely.

This has become my go-to waterline eyeliner, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone in the market for one. I actually like it so much that I’m considering buying the pink one as well…I guess we will see.

Leave a Reply

