[Review] TheFaceShop Enamel Coating Tint

Hello again…I am back with yet another lip product review. I keep telling myself I need to use up some before buying more, but I guess I just can’t help it…well, hope you guys enjoy!

IMG_0349

I wanted to venture away of my usual pinks and reds, so when I saw this on sale, I decided to just go for it. I got this in Orange Enamel (03). I was a little nervous about it turning out bright orange, but I’ve been wanting to try out an orange sort of tint for a while now.

The packaging is nice and sturdy, and convenient as well. Unfortunately, I can’t see how much is left, which is a bit of a pet peeve of mine when it comes to products.

IMG_0359

The applicator, however, is really nice. It’s easy to use and really precise, which I love.

The tint was a bit thicker than I thought it would be. It wasn’t like any other tint I tried before. It was like a thick liquid lipstick…? That’s the best description I can think of. It was a little unexpected, but I don’t dislike it. It doesn’t highlight dry patches or settle into fine lines, either.

This kind of smells like oranges, which surprised me a little. The scent isn’t too strong and fades soon after application, but just a note for those that may be very sensitive to scents.

IMG_0510

Much to my surprise, the colour wasn’t a bright as I thought it would be. It had medium pigmentation, and was buildable, but the colour wasn’t as bold on me as I thought it would be. The swatch above does look pretty orange, but once it’s spread it’s not quite as bold.

I actually ended up really like the colour. On my lips, it looks a little different from typical pink/red lipsticks, but nothing too crazy, which is exactly what I was looking for. It’s like matte nails…nothing too crazy, but it might make you look twice.

The tint itself is not at all drying, though feels a little bit thick (Like I said before, it feels like a thick liquid lipstick). It’s easy to spread, though, and looks nice as a gradient lip, as well. It has a slightly glossy look once applied as well, which is nice.

Unfortunately, the lasting power isn’t that great, especially compared to my other tints. I’d say you need to re-apply this about every 4-5 hours, or after eating. It doesn’t leave behind much of a stain, either.

However, the colour is so unexpectedly lovely that I think I can forgive that.

Pros:

  • Nice and sturdy packaging
  • Easy to use and precise applicator
  • Buildable pigmentation
  • Great colour
  • Not drying
  • Easy to spread
  • Slightly glossy

Cons:

  • Can’t see how much of product is left
  • Lasting power not very good
  • Doesn’t leave behind a stain

Overall rating: 8.5/10

Would I repurchase? Maybe.

I’d say this is more of a less pigmented liquid lipstick than a tint, since it doesn’t actually stain your lips. However, I am really looking forward to wearing this in the summer since it seems like a great colour for that season. Though I like the glossy look and the fact that it’s non-drying, I may try a product that actually stains next time.

Leave a Reply

