[Review] TheFaceShop Ink Lipquid

Hello everyone! I think my love for lip products is starting to become evident….but hope you enjoy this review anyways!

IMG_0368

This is usually $25, which I think is pretty pricey, but I got it for $10 because of an insane sale at my local TheFaceShop. I got this in PK04, or Pink Hommage, which is a really pretty rose pink shade. They have 12 shades in total.

IMG_0369

This claims to provide “hydration and hold for 12 hours”, according to the product description on their website. This also claims to be a lipstick, lipgloss and lip tint. I’d been curious about these ever since they came out, but thought they were too pricey…glad I finally got to try them!

This comes in a slim and convenient tube, and you can see both the colour and how much of the product is left, which I think is really nice. The cap also screws on nice and tightly, so I don’t have to worry about this opening and getting all over my purse or anything.

IMG_0370

I also really like the applicator. It’s precise and super easy to use, especially once you get to the cupid’s bow. It’s also great for touch-ups.

This product really is an all-in-one product. It has the texture of a gloss, without the stickiness, and the pigmentation of a lipstick. It also does stain your lips.

It is really pigmented though. One coat and you have a gorgeous, bright pink. I loved it. It looked glossy, but didn’t feel sticky or gloopy at all. It felt very comfortable on the lips, and wasn’t drying. However, it also was not moisturizing. It doesn’t settle into fine lines or highlight dry patches though, which I love.

The glossiness wears off after about 2 hours, and you need to apply lip balm around hour 3. Once it wears off, you have a bright, matte pink (Unless you apply something over top, which I do because my lips start to get dry).

This also does transfer a lot, at least until the glossiness wears off. But, on the bright side, there’ll still be tons of colour on your lips despite the bright lip prints on everything.

However, one thing that really disappointed me was the lasting power in general. It claims to last 12 hours, but after 6 hours had gone by it had noticeably faded. To make matters worse, it doesn’t wear off evenly either.

It’s pretty easy to touch up, but I had expected a little more out of this. Guess I got my hopes up too high. I knew it wasn’t going to provide 12 hours of moisture, but I expected a little more out of the claim about the hold.

However, with its gorgeous colour, I think I can overlook the lasting power. Somewhat.

Pros:

  • Slim and convenient packaging
  • Cap screws on
  • Easy to use and precise applicator
  • Pigmented
  • Lovely colour (Also good colour selection)
  • Glossy but not sticky
  • Not drying
  • Doesn’t settle into lines or highlight dry patches
  • Wears off to a matte stain

Cons:

  • Pricey
  • Not moisturizing
  • Transfers a lot
  • Only lasts half as long as it claims to
  • Fades unevenly

Overall rating: 8.5/10

Would I repurchase? Yes.

To be honest, I think I can find something better for $25. But for the price I got it for, this product was great. And I really like it overall. I am also really in love with this colour, and a couple others from this line have caught my eye. So, in short, I would repurchase it, especially this colour, if it was on sale.

2 thoughts on “[Review] TheFaceShop Ink Lipquid

Leave a Reply

