[Review] Lush Santa Baby Lip Tint

Hello everyone! I know you’re probably tired of lip product reviews by this point, but I just had to review this amazing little gem I got.

IMG_0505

I got this as part of a set with one of my favourite Lush products during their BOGO sale after Christmas. I really only got this for the lip scrub, but I ended up loving the tint (In case you didn’t already sense that).

I can’t find it on the website anymore, but I believe it costs around $10 on its own, which isn’t bad. Especially since it’s Lush (Natural, handmade, not tested on animals). I also really like how they put expirations on everything. Mine expires on January 12th of next year.

The tint itself comes in a simple little tube, which made me a little skeptical at first because I found any kind of tint in a tube usually didn’t last very long. However, it is the perfect size to carry around, and is unlikely to break.

I also like this more than the tin packaging of their other tints (I believe this tint also used to be packaged in a tin) because it’s more convenient, and seems more hygienic as well.

IMG_0506

The tint itself is bright red, which honestly scared me a little, and the texture is pretty odd. I’m not entirely sure how to describe it, but I’ll try. It’s a little thick and waxy, drags a little, and feels kind of dry. It also leaves behind tiny chunks on the first swipe (You might have guessed as much from the picture above). However, after a spreading and blending it a little with my finger, it looks perfectly fine.

IMG_0507

It is also super pigmented. One swipe gives you a nice, bright red, which is awesome (But not as bright as red lipstick, which I was happy with). It also doesn’t accentuate dry lips or settle into fine lines at all. I usually apply this without exfoliating, which I can’t say about many other lip products. Also, if you look closely at the swatch above, you can see those little chunks I mentioned before.

It looks semi-matte, but surprisingly doesn’t feel drying on the lips. It doesn’t feel moisturizing either, though. It kind of just feels like a layer sitting on your lips. Also, after setting, this stuff does not budge.

I was absolutely blown away by the lasting power of this tint. I applied this at 8:30AM in the morning, and ate, drank and spoke at lot. I also applied lip balm several times throughout the day. At 10PM, it was still as bright as it was nearly 13 hours ago. I was amazed.

Sometimes, strangely, it looks more fuschia than red by the end of the day (I think it may be my lip balm), but the point is, the colour is still pretty much 100% there (And the fuschia is still quite pretty). On days when I forget to apply lip balm throughout the day and my lips get dry, it still looks great.

When lip balm is applied on top, there is some transfer, but nothing too bad. Despite the transfer, the colour is still going strong by the end of the day, which never fails to amaze me.

Finally, this little tube of tint is going to last me forever. I don’t think I’ll be able to use it up before it expires. One swipe and I’m good to go, and it lasts all day, no touch-ups needed? A little goes a long, long way with this product.

Oh, and did I mention it smells like cola? As if I needed even more reason to love this product.

Overall, this product is seriously amazing.

Pros:

  • Natural, handmade, not tested on animals
  • Good price
  • Expiration date printed on product
  • Sturdy and convenient packaging
  • Super pigmented
  • Doesn’t accentuate dry lips or settle into fine lines
  • Not drying
  • Amazingly long lasting
  • A little goes a long way
  • Smells like cola

Cons:

  • Drags
  • Strange texture
  • Doesn’t moisturize
  • Some transfer (When lip balm applied on top)

Overall rating: 9.5/10

Would I repurchase? Definitely.

Not only would I definitely repurchase this, I really want to try their other lip tints as well. This has officially become one of my HG products, though. I’d definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a long-lasting red tint. It’s unfortunate that it’s a seasonal product, but one tube is honestly going to last me more than a year. Paired with the lip scrub, this would honestly be the best duo for the holidays…or any time of year, really.

 

2 thoughts on “[Review] Lush Santa Baby Lip Tint

Leave a Reply

