[Review] Essence Sheer & Shine Lipstick

Hi all! Today’s review is yet another lip product…one of the cheapest ones I’ve ever tried! Hope you’ll enjoy it.

IMG_0411

So Essence products are known for being really cheap, but really good quality. I’ve been searching for a good sheer lipstick for a while now, and when I saw this for $3.99, I couldn’t help but get one to try out. The colour also looked really nice, and like nothing I owned. I got this in “BFF” (03).

IMG_0423

The packaging feels a little cheap (It’s plastic), and I think it might crack if I drop it a few times, but otherwise it’s fine. It works and I don’t expect fancy packaging for such a low price.

IMG_0412

The colour is a nice berry sort of colour (I promise it’s not as red as it looks in that picture). The previous picture of the sticker is a more accurate representation of the colour in real life than the above picture. I thought it’d be a good colour to wear on a daily basis, especially since it was sheer. Some of them were glittery, but this one wasn’t.

The lipstick has a bit of a strong sweet scent, but it didn’t bother me too much. The lipstick itself, though, seems like it’s worth way more than $3.99. It’s not super pigmented, obviously, but it was moisturizing and applied amazingly. You can even apply this without a mirror, which is great.

It didn’t highlight dry patches or settle into fine lines at all, and made my lips look moisturized and just the right amount of glossy. The colour was like a “My lips but better” sort of colour. It applied like a sheer berry colour on me.

This doesn’t last very long (Needs to be re-applied every 2-3 hours, or after eating or drinking), but re-applying is no problem. This is basically like the perfect tinted lipbalm in lipstick form.

This does transfer somewhat, but nothing too bad. I suppose it’s because it’s sheer. Whenever it transfers, there’s still colour left on my lips, so it’s not a big deal.

I was pleasantly surprised with the product, especially for the price, and would definitely recommend it.

Pros:

  • Cheap
  • Good colour to wear on a daily basis
  • Moisturizing
  • Glossy
  • Easy to apply
  • Doesn’t highlight dry patches or settle into dry lines
  • Pretty colour

Cons:

  • Scent is a little strong
  • Needs to be re-applied fairly often
  • Transfers a bit

Overall rating: 9.5/10

Would I re-purchase? Definitely.

This product is great, and cheap enough that you can get pretty much every colour without breaking the bank. However, just a warning, I suspect that some of the colours look around the same when applied since it’s sheer, so maybe you shouldn’t actually get every colour. But I’d definitely recommend trying these out. And why not, for such a great price?

Leave a Reply

