[Review] Etude House Play 101 Pencil

Hello! So, I have another eye makeup product review coming your way today…I’ve heard a lot about these pencils so, a few weeks ago, I caved and finally ordered one. Let’s see if they lived up to the hype!

2015-08-17 12.41.46

I’ve heard a lot about colourful eyeliner lately and wanted to try some myself but, as some of you may know, I’m more into the natural and classic kind of looks and colours, so I was war of the brighter colours. When I saw this pretty shade of navy blue (#35), I decided to go ahead and try it!

They have a ton of shades and finishes to choose from, and a lot of different kinds of pencils, as well…eye pencils, lip pencils…even one to use as a concealer!

I got this for about $9 USD, shipping included.

2015-08-17 12.42.30

The pencil comes in a cute, slim box to match the colour of the pencil itself.

2015-08-17 12.41.55

It claims to be “a gel-type pencil that comes with vivid colors and various textures for easy and fun makeup play”.

2015-08-17 12.42.36

The design of the pencil itself is simple, but still cute. You can see what colour it is from the bottom of the pencil, but I can imagine that it’d get a little confusing if you had a bunch of these and they were all mostly grey with pink writing.

2015-08-17 12.42.53

There’s a little sharpener at the end, which is super useful. I love the fact that it’s self-sharpening…saves me some work, and it’s less wasteful as well!

2015-08-17 12.43.20

The pencil itself is a sparkly shade of navy blue. I was a little worried about two things: One, that I’d look like a disco ball. And two, that the eyeliner wouldn’t be as smooth because of the glitter.

I was wrong about both things, which made me really happy.

2015-08-17 12.43.49

The pencil is not too sparkly at all…just the right amount of shimmery. It makes your eyes look brighter, but isn’t too crazy glittery. It’s actually slightly more navy blue in real life than in the swatch above.

It also glides on like a dream, which is awesome. The pencil is really creamy and just a great eyeliner. It doesn’t blend out quite as well as an eye shadow, though, which is a little disappointing. This does mean that it sets pretty quickly, though, so no chance of smudging your eyeliner afterwards.

2015-08-17 12.46.15

Even after rubbing with water, the swatch was still somewhat intact, which I found fairly surprising considering the smooth and creamy texture of it. It washes off fairly easy with soap and water, though, so you won’t find yourself having to rub your eyes too hard to remove this.

It’s pretty pigmented, though I have to go over my eyes twice to get a really nice, opaque, dark line. You don’t need much, though, so I can imagine that this liner would last me quite awhile.

The colour is super pretty on the eyes, though. It looks almost black, but not quite. In the sun, it looks dark blue. But it makes my eyes pop, and I got compliments on my eyeliner choice. It’s nothing too crazy, but just unconventional enough to get noticed.

Finally, the lasting power. What good is an eyeliner if you just end up with panda eyes at the end of the day, right?

The first time I used this, I applied it at around 3 in the afternoon and was out until about 9 at night. When I got home, the eyeliner was still fully intact. There was minimal smudging, but you could barely tell, really. It looked as nice and opaque as when I applied it. I imagine that, if you were to wear this all day, a little touch-up before you go out again in the evening would be all you’d need to keep it looking as pretty as when you applied it in the morning.

I can see why there’s so much hype about these pencils!

Pros:

  • Simple but cute packaging
  • Self-sharpening
  • Not too glittery
  • Creamy
  • Glides on like a dream
  • Pigmented
  • Pretty colour
  • Doesn’t smudge or fade

Cons:

  • Design of pencil might be confusing if you have a bunch
  • Doesn’t blend out that well as an eyeshadow

Overall rating: 9/10

Would I repurchase? Yes!

I think that the concept is really cool…being able to do all of your makeup with just pencils? Imagine that! I’d love to try out other eyeshadow/eyeliners, as well as the lip pencils…they have so many options to choose from, too. There’s bound to be something for everyone. This really is something that’d be great for experimenting.

3 thoughts on “[Review] Etude House Play 101 Pencil

Leave a Reply

