[Review] Innisfree Skinny Microcara

Hey everyone! It’s been awhile, but I’m back…I noticed I hadn’t done a mascara review in forever, and recently got a new one, so decided that would be my next post.

2015-08-18 11.20.08

I actually don’t like mascara. I don’t really like how it looks or feels, so I only use it on special occasions. I also find it a little difficult to apply it without getting black streaks on other parts of my eyes, so when I heard about this mascara, with a precise and tiny wand that promised a more ‘natural’ look, I was all ears.

I got this for about $8.50 USD (Shipping included), which is pretty good.

I got this in #1 black.

The tube is pretty slim and light, with simple packaging, in the typical Innisfree fashion. It’s super convenient to carry around. The wand really is tiny. t was basically the same width as the shaft (I think that’s what it’s called…? I may be wrong). It was around the same size as a piece of led from a type HB pencil.

The wand is a little bendable, which I see as both a positive and a negative. Sometimes it bends when I don’t want it to (Like when I’m trying wiggle the wand between my lashes but the bending brush is making things a little difficult), but it also makes application easier. I feel like I’m less likely to poke myself in the eye.

My favourite part of it all, though, is the wand. It is so incredibly precise. I got every single lash. Even my bottom lashes, which I usually just give up on.

This doesn’t give your lashes much volume, but it does look pretty natural. It also doesn’t really clump, and doesn’t flake, which I love. It holds a curl and gives your lashes some length, without looking too dramatic. No risk of spider lashes here! It looks pretty natural, which is exactly what I wanted.

This might be a con for some, though. I’ve read reviews saying they didn’t like how the mascara didn’t seem to do much. I prefer that, but I know others won’t, so I’m just putting that out there. It’s just like a ‘my lashes but better’ kind of effect.

Even at the end of the day, my lashes were still pretty nicely curled (Though they had drooped a little bit). And, even better, it didn’t smudge at all during the day! It was pretty easy to take off, too. Just a note that this is not waterproof, though (There is a waterproof version out there).

All in all, I may have finally found a mascara that I want to use more than a few times a month.

Pros:

  • Convenient packaging
  • Super precise wand
  • Looks natural
  • Doesn’t clump
  • Doesn’t flake
  • Gives lashes length
  • Holds a curl
  • Doesn’t smudge
  • Easy to remove

Cons:

  • Doesn’t really give additional volume
  • Not waterproof

Overall rating: 9.5/10

Would I repurchase? Definitely!

This might be my new HG mascara…for events when my makeup will need to be a little more heavier, my Lancôme one will still be my go-to, though. I’d definitely this mascara to anyone looking for a more natural everyday look, though!

Leave a Reply

