[Review] Etude House Dreaming Swan Dear My Blooming Lips Talk

Hey guys! So I have yet another lip product review for you guys…I should probably stop, but I keep seeing colours I like. In this case, though, it was mostly the packaging that caught my attention. This is one of Etude House’s new collections (Although it was released a while ago, but I ordered one not too long after it came out). There are also going to be more pictures in this post than usual…but I just couldn’t help it! That packaging…but, moving on:

2015-07-06 20.20.14

I’ve tried and reviewed another Etude House lipstick before, and found they were cheap but still good quality. I was hoping that these would be good, as well. I got this in PK023 (Arabesque Rosy), which looked like a fun, bright pink (Just my kind of pink!).

2015-07-06 20.21.02

Let’s take a moment to appreciate the packaging though….

2015-07-06 20.21.20

Look at that…isn’t it just so pretty? I fell in love the moment I laid eyes on it and got it before really thinking about it. I was so excited when I received it. Even the box is really pretty. I still have it, though I have no idea what to do with it.

2015-07-06 20.20.50

2015-07-06 20.20.24

The tube is the same design as my last Etude House lipstick, but more pastel, which I actually like better. Just carrying this lipstick around makes me feel really girly.

2015-07-06 20.22.07

There’s a ballet slipper print inside the tube, which I think is a really nice touch. And the symbol on the actual lipstick bullet itself just pulls everything together.

The lipstick is actually a brighter pink in real life…I’m not quite sure how to describe it, but it’s basically a bubblegum pink with a hint of coral. Very pretty, and a colour that I thought would be perfect for the summer. The swatch is also a more vivid pink in real life.

2015-07-06 20.23.29

The lipstick bullet looks really bright and a little intimidating, but the lipstick itself doesn’t actually go on all that bright. It’s not as pigmented as my last Etude House lipstick, but it’s not too bad. I’d say it has about medium pigmentation. On my lips it’s still a fun pink, but not quite as vivid and noticeable as the lipstick bullet was…it is a more wearable colour, though. The colour is also buildable, which is a plus.

The texture was pretty disappointing. It felt waxy and dragged on my lips, which is definitely not a good thing. It also accentuates dry patches and settles into lines, which is my pet peeve when it comes to lipstick. You definitely need to exfoliate before using this.

2015-07-06 20.20.40

It doesn’t moisturize, and actually feels a little powdery on the lips…I’m not exactly sure how to describe it. If you look at the picture above, though, it does say it has a smooth and powdery finish. I didn’t expect it to be so dry, though. You definitely need lip balm with this lipstick. It does look pretty matte, though, which I kind of like (I don’t own a matte lipstick). However, in about an hour my lips start to get pretty dry and I need to apply lipbalm. And, like I mentioned before, it definite doesn’t feel silky or glide on lips…it feels waxy and drags.

The more I re-apply, the patchier it gets, which is really unfortunate. It does leave behind a bit of a pink stain, though. But whenever I re-apply, I do it with a light hand or I end up with really patchy lips, especially if they’re really dry.

So, while this lipstick is really beautiful to look at, and the colour is really nice, it just fell a little flat for me.

Pros:

  • Pretty packaging
  • Pretty colour
  • Buildable
  • Matte

Cons:

  • Not as pigmented as expected
  • Highlights dry patches
  • Settles into lip lines
  • Feels waxy
  • Drags
  • Doesn’t moisturize
  • Re-application makes it look patchy

Overall rating: 5/10

Would I repurchase? Unfortunately, no.

It’s a shame because I was so excited to receive this, and had a good experience with my other Etude House lipstick, but I don’t regret the purchase. I really am a sucker for packaging and the pink colour is a really wearable and fun one, despite how bright it looked in the tube. I had been hoping for a more vivid colour, though, so that was a little disappointing.

2 thoughts on “[Review] Etude House Dreaming Swan Dear My Blooming Lips Talk

    • Oh, that’s unfortunate…well, I kind of understand how you’re feeling. The only Korean beauty shop I have in my city is TheFaceShop so it can be difficult to get items sometimes. Hopefully they will release it at some point though!

Leave a Reply

