L’Oreal Colour Riche Balm Pop

Hi everyone! So I’m back with yet another lip product review. I was looking around for a wearable tinted balm that wasn’t too bright and could be used on a daily basis. I came across these and, after reading some pretty good reviews, decided to try them out.

2015-08-01 14.20.07

I got this in the shade Fiery Red (430). This claims to have “shea butter to nourish and hydrate [lips] for a full 8 hrs”. I was pretty skeptical about that, but let’s see how things went, shall we?

I got this for about $10, which isn’t bad. The packaging is quite nice. It’s fun and colourful, but not too tacky looking. I have no problem with the cap not staying on or the base being too difficult to hold or turn. I really like the design of the tube, especially with the clear cap matching the lip balm inside.

2015-08-01 14.20.25

This basically looks like your average lip balm, except for the fact that it’s bright red.

This lip balm does not feel smooth or buttery at all. In fact, it feels a bit waxy upon application which is a little disappointing. It’s nothing too bad (Especially in warmer weather when it goes on a little smoother), but I expected more since this was advertised as a lip balm.

This also feels pretty waxy on lips, and doesn’t really moisturize, which is sad.

2015-08-01 14.20.46

On the upside, it’s a really nice and bright cherry red that’s perfect for the summertime. It actually ended up being more pigmented than I expected, and can be made darker with more layers. It also looks a little glossy (For about the first hour or so), which is nice. There is a little bit of shimmer in there, but it’s barely noticeable. The swatch above is one swipe of the lip balm.

However, reapplication isn’t all that great. At least, not in my opinion.

Like I said before, I was looking for something wearable that could be used on a daily basis. This leaves behind a red tint afterwards, and dries up on the lips pretty quickly (I need to reapply after about an hour). Reapplying only makes the colour darker, and I end up with bright red lips, which I didn’t really want. It’s a pretty colour, just not what I was looking for.

It’s not that bad of a product, but not really all that great either.

Pros:

  • Nice packaging
  • Good price
  • Nice colour
  • Buildable
  • Glossy but not too shimmery

Cons:

  • Feels waxy
  • Doesn’t really moisturize
  • Needs to be re-applied often
  • Becomes darker with reapplications

Overall rating: 7/10

Would I repurchase? Probably not.

I’ll definitely use this up, but I’ll probably look for another one. This isn’t too bad in the summer, but in the winter my lips are really dry and this will definitely not cut it. It’s too bad, because the colour (When first applied) is really nice, too. And the packaging is so pretty, too.

One thought on “L’Oreal Colour Riche Balm Pop

  1. Pingback: [Review] A’Pieu Kissable Tint Stick SPF14/PA+ (Doraemon Version) | delicatedesire

Leave a Reply

