[Review] Nivea Aqua Effect Mattifying Day Cream

So, it’s been about a month since I’ve done a skincare review, so here’s another one for you guys!

2015-07-03 15.31.20

I wanted a moisturizer with SPF for the summertime, but also one that would control my oily skin…so when I saw this one, I decided to give it a try.

2015-07-03 15.31.43

Its claims: Provides intensive moisture without clogging pores, SPF15 to help protect the skin form sunburn, reduces shin and mattifies the look of skin, leaves skin looking healthy and beautiful.

2015-07-03 15.31.33

The packaging of this is pretty plain, but everything from the claims to the disclaimers are laid out clearly and simply.

The jar itself is pretty simple, but quite sturdy. I don’t know why it looks this way in the picture, but the jar itself is pure white with an aqua green coloured lid, like the box. The cream is white, and both the texture and scent remind me of sunscreen, which I don’t really like.

2015-07-03 15.32.12

Fortunately, it doesn’t leave any kind of white cast on my face the way a lot of facial sunscreens I’ve tried in the past do. It also doesn’t feel sticky, although it does feel a little heavy on the skin at first and feels a little greasy when you apply it. It takes a few minutes to fully absorb.

It doesn’t, however, mattify skin at all. In fact, it makes skin look a little shiny upon application. It also doesn’t control oil at all, which is disappointing. I guess I should have expected that from a moisturizer that looked and smelled like a sunscreen, but it claimed to be a mattifying day cream, which it definitely isn’t.

It doesn’t cause breakouts or anything, which is good. I was a little afraid of that happening since it felt a little greasy on my face.

The cream does a pretty good job of moisturizing my face, but it’s nothing special, really.

Pros:

  • Has SPF
  • Sturdy packaging
  • No white cast
  • Doesn’t cause breakouts

Cons:

  • Feels a little greasy
  • Looks and smells like sunscreen
  • Takes a few minutes to fully absorb
  • Doesn’t mattify skin
  • Doesn’t control oil
  • Makes skin look a little shiny upon application

Overall rating: 6/10

Would I repurchase? Probably not.

The scent kind of bothers me, and so does the fact it does the opposite of what it claims…makes skin look a little shiny instead of mattifying it. Other than the SPF, it really is nothing special…it might actually be better for the winter, since my skin is a little drier then. But I’ll probably look for a different moisturizer after I use this up.

Leave a Reply

