[Review] TheFaceShop Mango Seed Cleansing Butter

Hello everyone! So, during my last TheFaceShop purchase, I got a few samples…one of which was a cleansing butter from their mango seed line (I also got a cleansing foam, but I will review that later).

2015-07-01 20.39.24

I’ve always been a little wary of cleansing butters and oils because my face is oily and somewhat prone to breakouts, so this sample was probably the only way I would’ve tried it, so I’m glad I got it.

The cleansing butter smells amazing, just like mango, but not too strong or artificial (I’d still caution those that are sensitive to scents, though).

The texture is pretty much that of soft butter, except not as oily, which was a relief to me. However, you need quite a bit of this to cleanse your whole face (At least, when compared to other cleansers I’ve used). This sample packet was enough to last me about 3 uses.

The texture of this is a little strange, in my opinion. It’s a little like oily water…? I’m not quite sure how to describe it, but it didn’t really ever feel like it was doing anything for my face. I just basically felt like I was rubbing water on my face.

After I wash this off, my face is cleaner, but not as clean as I’d like it to be. It’s not drying at all, which is nice, but it also doesn’t do as good a job at cleaning my face as other cleansers.

This sometimes still leaves traces of my concealer behind, so this probably wouldn’t really work at all if I was wearing more makeup.

This didn’t cause breakouts or make my skin oilier in any way, though, so I guess I’m a little less wary of these kinds of cleansers now.

However, though this cleanser didn’t cause anything negative, I didn’t really like it.

Pros:

  • Smells nice
  • Not drying

Cons:

  • Skin doesn’t feel completely clean afterwards
  • Doesn’t do a good job of cleaning off makeup

Overall rating: 5/10

Would I purchase? Unfortunately not.

Though I can see this being a good choice for people with dry skin, especially in the winter, it’s not something I would ever buy for myself. It was still nice to try to out, though.

Leave a Reply

