[Review] NYC Ultra Moist Lip Wear

Hello all…I’m back with another lipstick review! I’ve been turning into a bit of a lipstick junkie lately, but this mean more lip product reviews for you guys…so enjoy!

The last red lipstick I bought was a little too orange-y for my taste, so when I saw this one for a mere ~$1.20, I decided to go ahead and buy it. I’d heard good reviews about NYC’s products, but I was a little skeptical given the price. I got this in the ahde Retro Red (308).

2015-07-16 16.28.13

The packaging is pretty simple, and also pretty cheap. It’s plastic, but if you drop it even once, you’ll probably end up with a cracked plastic cap (At least, that’s what happened to me). It’s light, though, and easy to carry around.

The bullet for the lipstick is bright red, though it’s a little blurry in my picture (Sorry for the poor lighting, as well). The sade is definitely closer to the nice red you see in the picture above than the picture below.

2015-07-16 16.28.26

This is really easy to apply and goes on like a dream. It’s super creamy and so incredibly pigmented! One swipe and you get the true, classic red. This isn’t drying at all, nor does it do anything like settle into lip lines, which I hate. It does have a slight fruity scent to it, though. Personally, I like it more than the typical lipstick scent, but some people may be sensitive to it. This lipstick looks a little glossy once applied, which I don’t mind.

2015-07-16 16.28.46

Despite its creaminess, the colour just lasts and lasts. Even after the lipstick has dried, I still have a bright red stain on my lips.

It is, however, a little difficult to remove. You’ll probably need makeup remover of some kind.

I only need to re-apply this if I applied it once in the morning and am going out again in the evening. The stain left behind works otherwise. I do, however, need to apply lipbalm about 3-4 hours after applying this lipstick, which is pretty average.

Of course, as I’ve mentioned many times before, I’m not really the kind of person to wear bright and bold colours like this on a daily basis. I just wanted a classic red lipstick for special occasions, and I’ve definitely found the perfect one. I believe they have about 8 shades, which is average.

For the low price, this lipstick really shocked me with its performance!

Pros:

  • Cheap
  • Easy to apply
  • Creamy
  • Incredibly pigmented
  • Not drying
  • Doesn’t settle into lip lines
  • Leaves a stain behind

Cons:

  • Cheap packaging

Overall rating: 9/10

Would I repurchase? Yes.

I’m a sucker for packaging, plus this packaging is a little fragile (I’m pretty clumsy so I prefer more sturdy packaging), hence the 1 point taken off. However, everything else about this lipstick is pretty great. And for this price? I almost can’t believe it.

Leave a Reply

