[Review] Eglips Lolly Flower Lipstick

Hello everyone! It’s been forever, I know, but now I’m back with another review…hope you guys like it.

2015-07-06 20.18.32

I saw this lipstick online and have never heard of the brand before, but the shades were really pretty so I decided to go ahead and order it. It was only about $7, which isn’t too bad. I got this in the shade Ylang Ylan Peach (#17). I got it from BeautynetKorea.

2015-07-06 20.18.51

This claims to be a “smooth lipstick” that “delivers a surge of moisture giving your lips a gorgeous look”. Pretty much all I would really want from a lipstick.

The packaging is really pretty, although quite simple, as you can see from the pictures above. It’s a white box with silver flowers all over it.

2015-07-06 20.19.14

The lipstick tube matches the box, which I think is really nice. The tube itself is pretty small…the lipstick can actually fit into the palm of my hand, so it’s really convenient to carry around.

2015-07-06 20.19.40

The lipstick itself is a nice coral/peach shade, although it doesn’t look as pink as in the swatch shown on the website.

2015-07-06 20.23.05

The lipstick has medium pigmentation, and goes on pretty close to my natural lip colour. It just makes them a shade more peach. It’s really pretty though, and is something that is very wearable, so I do like it.

However, the lipstick is kind of dry. It kind of settles into lines and highlights dry patches, so I would definitely suggest exfoliating before applying this lipstick. It also drags a bit on the lips. I usually need to apply lipbalm about an hour after applying this lipstick. Though it looks glossy in the swatch above, the glossiness usually also goes away within about an hour.

The colour lasts for about 4 or 5 hours, though, which is pretty good. However, on about the third application, it begins to look a cakey, so watch out for that.

It also is definitely not a moisturizing lipstick, but I guess that’s why the colour lasts so long. But this wouldn’t really be good in the winter months, unless you have a good lipbalm to apply underneath.

All in all, not a bad lipstick…I suppose. Too bad the texture just doesn’t really cut it.

Pros:

  • Good price
  • Really pretty packaging
  • Convenient size
  • Beautiful colour
  • Colour is long-lasting

Cons:

  • Settles into lip lines
  • Highlights dry patches
  • Dry
  • Drags on lips
  • Can look cakey after a few applications

Overall rating: 7.5/10

Would I repurchase? Probably not.

Unfortunately, though I’m in love with the colour and packaging, the dry and sometimes cakey texture of the lipstick really kind of ruins it for me. It’s fine to use during the summer, but my lips are much drier in the winter so I don’t think it’d work out that well. As much as I love the long-lasting colour as well, I expect my lipsticks to be creamy. I’ll use this one, but I’ll probably search for a similar shade from a different brand next time.

2 thoughts on “[Review] Eglips Lolly Flower Lipstick

Leave a Reply

