[Review] Olay Fresh Effects Dew Over Hydrating Gel Moisturizer

Hi everyone! After using up my Garnier gel cream, I decided to try out another one. It’s summer now, so I thought it would be safe to try out another gel moisturizer.

2015-07-03 15.28.32

This one claimed to be a “lightweight moisturizing gel” that “hydrates for 24-hours to awaken your skin for a well-rested look”. Pretty basic, but I don’t really ask for much more from a moisturizer. And if it could actually make my skin look well-rested that’d be great in a night moisturizer. However, I didn’t believe for a moment that it hydrated for 24-hours. Nice thought, though.

2015-07-03 15.29.01

I got this for around $13, which is pretty average for a drugstore moisturizer. At least, compared to other drugstore moisturizers that I’ve bought.

2015-07-03 15.29.18

I’d just like to point out that the box is really colourful and fun, which might be one thing that attracted my eye to it (You did well, whoever thought of the packaging!). Even the inside of the box was playful and bright.

2015-07-03 15.30.17

The moisturizer comes in a nice, sturdy and simple container. As you can see from the picture below, the container isn’t as colourful as the box, but I still like it. I don’t really have a problem with jars. It comes with a little plastic separator that gets a little annoying after a while. It’s still nice that it’s included, though. Unlike the Garnier one, this one is designed to be easily lifted off and doesn’t really get in the way as much.

2015-07-03 15.30.42

The moisturizer itself is a pale mint green sort of colour, and opaque, unlike my last one. It doesn’t really look like a gel, but it definitely feels like one. It does have that typical floral kind of scent, though…? I never really know how to describe it. But it’s basically the scent I associate with most skincare products.

The moisturizer itself takes a few seconds to absorb into your skin, and is a little sticky, which isn’t exactly the most pleasant feeling. However, it is quite light and fairly refreshing. A little can go a pretty long way, too, which is something I like about gel moisturizers.

This gel is a really nice lightweight moisturizer for the summer, but I can already tell that it won’t be enough for the wintertime. However, I did only buy it for the summertime.

It don’t know if it makes my skin look ‘well-rested’, but it does keep my skin decently hydrated. Nowhere close to 24 hours, though. It’s not exactly the best moisturizer, but it works well enough that I wouldn’t want to get a refund or anything. I wouldn’t recommend it to anybody who doesn’t have combination/oily skin, though. And especially not to people with dry skin.

It doesn’t make my skin any oilier, which is nice. But gel moisturizers generally don’t, so I guess it isn’t anything really unique to this moisturizer.

All in all, not a HG moisturizer by any means, but a decent purchase.

Pros:

  • Nice packaging
  • Light and refreshing
  • Little can go a long way
  • Good for the summertime
  • Doesn’t make skin oilier

Cons:

  • Typical floral scent
  • Takes a few seconds to absorb
  • A little sticky
  • Not all that moisturizing

Overall rating: 7.5/10

Would I repurchase? Maybe.

This does its job, but isn’t really anything special. And I definitely won’t be repurchasing it for the winter. It’s nice for the hot summer weather, though. And, like I said before, the packaging is really playful and cute…and you should know by now that I’m a total sucker for packaging.

Leave a comment