[Review] Revlon Super Lustrous Creme Lipstick

Hello everyone! Today’s going to be yet another lipstick review. Unlike the last one, which was really pale, this one is a really bright red…both of which are outside of my comfort zone. But it’s always nice to try new things, right?

2015-07-01 20.35.01

So, I saw these lipsticks on sale the other day and decided to pick one up. I’ve heard lots of good things about Revlon’s lip products, so I decided to try them out for myself. I picked out a red shade because it’s a classic, and something I didn’t already own. I picked the shade ‘Fire and Ice’ (720).

2015-07-01 20.35.43

I got this for about $6.00, which isn’t too bad. The regular price is something like $7.99, I believe.

The packaging is actually quite nice. It has a gold band with ‘Revlon’ on it and the tube inside is gold. Also quite sturdy, which is always a good thing.

The lipstick is really easy to apply, and super creamy. It does have a bit of a typical lipstick scent, but nothing too bad. It also didn’t settle into lip lines or highlight dry patches at all, which was a pleasant surprise.

What shocked me the most about this lipstick, though, was the pigmentation. One swipe and my lips were bright red…it was so awesome! And a little scary for me, because I wasn’t used to wearing such bright colours. Or something so red.

Unfortunately for me, the shade ended up leaning a bit more towards the orange side on my lips, which I didn’t really like. I’m considering exchanging it for a different shade at this point. Or maybe I’m just not used to wearing such bright reds. Who knows.

This lipstick does transfer, probably because it’s so creamy, but it won’t show on your lips. It also fades evenly, which is nice. Strangely enough, it leaves a tint on my lips, but so do most lipsticks I’ve tried, so I’m starting to think that perhaps it’s just me. However, it fades nice and evenly, which is nice.

I have to re-apply about once every 3-4 hours, because the creaminess wears off (But, like I said before, I have a red tint on my lips even after this lipstick has dried).

I can see why people love Revlon lip products so much now…this lipstick performed great for the price!

Pros:

  • Cheap
  • Nice and sturdy tube
  • Easy to apply
  • Creamy
  • Doesn’t settle into lip lines or highlight dry patches
  • Pigmented
  • Fades evenly

Cons:

  • Typical lipstick scent
  • Shade not right for me

Overall rating: 9/10

This was a really good lipstick, and I really want to find a shade I’ll like just because of the awesome texture. To anybody out there looking for a nice, cheap drugstore lipstick, this is one I would definitely recommend.

One thought on “[Review] Revlon Super Lustrous Creme Lipstick

  1. Pingback: [Review] NYC Ultra Moist Lip Wear | delicatedesire

Leave a Reply

