[Review] Lancôme Color Design Lipstick

Hi guys! So I got this lipstick a little while as a gift for purchase, and have kind of forgotten about it until recently. I’ve tried it out a few times, and decided to finally write a review on it…enjoy!

2015-02-14 13.56.48

It’s $28.00 for the full-size, which is kind of pricey, especially considering how I don’t wear lipstick all that often (Although that’s starting to change a bit).

2015-02-14 13.57.57

I got this in the shade ‘Pale Lip’, which is apparently a cream shade. I find the name of the colour a little awkward, but I guess suitable for the shade…especially the way it looks on me. But I’ll get to that in a little bit.

The tube is nice and simple, and something small enough that it’s convenient to carry around. It’s also nice and sturdy. It has the trademark rose logo on the cap.

2015-02-14 13.58.34

This picture doesn’t really do the lipstick justice…but imagine it as a shade pinker or so. It’s not actually this beige. It looked like a shade that I would like on other people, but wasn’t too sure about how it’d look on me.

The texture of this lipstick is absolutely wonderful. It goes on so smoothly and feels really creamy. It’s also nice and pigmented. Just one swipe and you’re pretty much good to go. It does transfer a little, but there will still be colour left on your lips afterwards.

It also has that typical lipstick smell, in case any of you were wondering. I don’t exactly like it, but, like most others, it does fade pretty much right after application.

This does fade evenly, though, which is good. And it also doesn’t settle into fine lines or highlight dry patches, which is something I’m always worried about. I have to apply this about once every 3 hours, which is average.

Now…how does the colour look on me?

Not so great, to be honest. It washes me out and it’s a little too nude, or pale, for me. Sadly. The lipstick itself is great, and the shade looks great on a lot of people, I’m sure, but it’s just not for me.

I have, however, found another use for it. Layering it on top of other, more brightly coloured, lipsticks is great for making the shade more wearable. So it’s not a totally lost cause!

And I did get it for free, so I guess I didn’t waste any money.

Pros:

  • Sturdy, convenient and simple packaging
  • Smooth and creamy
  • Pigmented
  • Fades evenly

Cons:

  • Expensive
  • Typical lipstick scent
  • Colour washes me out

Overall rating: 8/10

Would I repurchase? Maybe.

If I ever start wearing lipsticks a lot, and see a colour I really like, I might purchase one. But I would not purchase this shade. While the texture is really nice, the shade just really doesn’t work for me. At least, not alone.

Leave a Reply

