[Review] The Body Shop Colour Crush Eyeshadow

Hello everyone! So, I was browsing The Body Shop the other day and came across this eyeshadow on sale for around $3.00, so of course I had to get it. It was a shade I didn’t have yet, and one that I thought would look nice during the summer. I got this in 401 (Lavender Love), which is a matte shade.

2015-01-21 17.53.43

The packaging is pretty simple, and quite sturdy.

2015-01-21 17.54.20

I had read some good reviews about this eyeshadow, but was disappointed when I actually tried it out for myself. As you can see in the picture below, the pigmentation is not all that good. And that was two swipes of the eyeshadow, too. It doesn’t perform much better when it’s wet, either.

2015-01-21 17.55.38

The eyeshadow itself goes on and blends nicely, and there’s no fallout, which is good. On my oily lids, though, it doesn’t last very long. It starts to fade after about 3 hours, although it doesn’t crease. Even with primer, it doesn’t last all day (About 5 hours), which is also kind of disappointing.

The colour itself is quite pretty, although it would probably look better on another skin tone. It doesn’t look all that great on mine, though which some other colours and blending I can make it work.

All in all, this eyeshadow was ‘meh’, and all I can really say is that I’m glad I got it on sale for such a low price.

Pros:

  • Sturdy and simple packaging
  • Applies and blends nicely
  • No fallout
  • Doesn’t crease

Cons:

  • Not very pigmented
  • Fades pretty quickly, even with primer
  • Doesn’t really suit me

Overall rating: 6/10

Would I repurchase? Probably not.

I’m glad I got to try it for a low price, but I don’t think I’ll be getting any of the other colours. This eyeshadow is actually usually $10.00, which I think is a little pricey for something that’s not very pigmented and doesn’t last very long. Other people have had better experiences with it than me, though, so don’t let me discourage you from trying it out!

Leave a Reply

