[Review] Etude House Dear My Wish Lips Talk

Hello everyone! I have a pretty exciting review for you guys today, though it’s probably only really exciting for me. But it’s of a product that I’ve been wanting to try for a while now…Etude House’s Dear My Wish Lips Talk lipstick!

2015-04-22 13.58.34

The name is a bit of a mouthful, but I’ve heard a lot about Etude House lipsticks and was excited to finally have the chance to try them out for myself. I got the colour BE101, because I wanted to try a nude colour but not one that was too beige or pale…and this colour looked really nice in the official swatches and in pictures of reviews I read. The colour is apparently called “Chic Hollywood Beige”.

I got this for ~$10.00, which is pretty good for a lipstick.

2015-04-22 13.58.20

As with a lot of Etude House packaging, the box and lipstick itself are both very pretty. Seriously, I want to keep the box…but I’m not sure what I’d do with it.

2015-04-22 13.58.42

There’s a short English description on the side: “This rich color, rich nutrition, and rich moisture lipstick comes with a new texture that melts smoothly onto lips and delivers vivid color with just one touch”. Pretty much everything you want in a nice basic lipstick.

2015-04-22 13.59.07

I like how they have a label over the top of the box that serves both to let you know what colour it is and also as a seal of sorts.

2015-04-22 15.38.04

The packaging of the lipstick itself is really cute. It’s plastic, so it’s sturdy and light, which I like. I’ve read that the little bow is actually a ring, but I couldn’t get it off the tube and didn’t really want to break anything. Plus, most standard sized rings don’t fit me, so I doubt that this one would.

The lipstick itself is basically the same colour as the label (The lighting in the picture makes it look darker than it actually is).

2015-04-22 15.38.31

The shape of the lipstick is pretty nice and makes application nice and simple, although the nice sort facet look on the top disappears with a few applications.

The lipstick goes on really nice and smoothly, since it’s pretty creamy, and it’s pretty pigmented. One coat is usually all I really need. It does settle into lines and cracks a little, but nothing as bad as some other products I’ve tried. It is pretty nice and moisturizing, though I wouldn’t recommend applying it to really dry and cracked lips because it does apply somewhat unevenly in that case.

It does have that typical ‘lipstick’ scent (I’m not quite sure how to describe it exactly, so I’m just going to hope you guys know what I’m talking about), which I’ve never really been fond of. It’s really obvious while I’m applying it, though it does fade shortly after.

The colour is pretty much the same colour as the lipstick bullet, and a little more beige (On me, at least) than in the official swatches. However, I do really like the colour. It’s sort of like a nice beige with a hint of pink. It’s nice and clean, and great for just a simple look. It’d probably also look pretty good with a nice smokey eye or something.

The colour is also somewhat buildable. You get medium to full coverage with one application, and after you have full coverage you can’t really build the colour anymore.

I have to re-apply this about once every 3 hours or so, or after eating. Not always after drinking (Depends on how much and what I’m drinking), though. This seems to be pretty standard for a lipstick, so there’s no real complaining here.

This is probably because of its creaminess, but it does transfer pretty easily.

Strangely enough, this leaves behind a slight tint even though it’s pretty much dried out. It’s not really noticeable, and can be pretty easily wiped off, but I just thought that I’d mention it.

Pros:

  • Pretty packaging
  • Label that shows colour and acts as a seal
  • Shape of lipstick makes application easy
  • Good price
  • Creamy
  • Pigmented
  • Moisturizing
  • Nice colour

Cons:

  • Settles into lines and cracks a little
  • Obvious lipstick scent
  • Transfers easily

Overall rating: 8.5/10

Would I repurchase? Yes.

I think I now understand why people love Etude House lipsticks so much. The package is really nice and the product is really good, especially for the price. I’m really curious about their other lines of lipsticks, and other colours in this line. I’m probably going to have a hard time choosing my next shade because they have so many to choose from, although OR202 and OR203 look pretty interesting. The only thing that worries me right now, though, is whether it’ll melt during really hot days, since it’s so creamy. Hopefully it won’t. Anyways, thanks for stopping by and I hope you enjoyed this review!

One thought on “[Review] Etude House Dear My Wish Lips Talk

  1. Pingback: [Review] Etude House Dreaming Swan Dear My Blooming Lips Talk | delicatedesire

Leave a Reply

