[Review] Etude House Zero Sebum Drying Powder

Hello everyone! I’m back with another review, this time of a product I received not too long ago. Enjoy!

2015-04-22 13.57.17

I was a little unsure about whether or not I should get this, since it was a pretty new product and I couldn’t find many reviews on it when I ordered it. However, I decided to go ahead and order it just to try it out…and hope to mend my relationship with Etude House and their skincare products, which hasn’t been so great so far.

2015-04-22 13.57.37

I got this for about $7.20, which isn’t too bad. This is bigger than my Innisfree powder. It’s about the size of my palm and, considering how long my Innisfree powder lasted me (About a year and a half), this is probably going to last me a really long time.

2015-04-22 15.36.15

The description on the front is nice and simple: “Provides clear skin without dryness or flakiness.” I’m pretty sure they mean by reducing shine when they say ‘clear skin’, but I see those two words together on Korean products so much I can’t really tell what it’s supposed to mean exactly anyways.

2015-04-22 13.57.50

As you can see, this product was really easy to take out of the packaging. The stuff on the back is mostly in Korean, so I can’t tell you what it says. I do like how they have the production date on the back, though.

The design of the container is pretty cute, and it’s nice and sturdy too.

2015-04-22 15.36.37

The puff is a simple mint green, matching the packaging. It’s also incredibly soft. I seriously love it. And, unlike with a white puff, it’s easier to see if there’s any powder left on it.

2015-04-22 15.36.48

There’s a little sticker over the plastic cover and, once removed, the powder comes through holes in the plastic cover right onto the puff. It can get a little messy (Especially if you container ends up being stored upside down for whatever reason), though. It also sometimes dispenses a little too much. And sometimes a little bit of the powder ends up on my hands. It is pretty convenient, though.

The plastic cover itself is actually pretty rubbery, and I was a little worried I’d tear it or something when I first opened it.

The powder itself is white and has a subtle citrus sort of scent. It’s pretty nice. The scent does disappear as you blend it into your skin, though.

This powder does a pretty good job of mattifying your skin upon application, and doesn’t look cakey or give you a white cast (Unless you pile it on, which you shouldn’t be doing anyways).

Unfortunately, this was a little disappointing in the oil control department. My skin was getting oily about 2 or 3 hours later and, by the end of the day, my skin is about 1/3 to 1/5 as oily as it usually is. If it’s a longer day (Over 12 hours), it doesn’t seem to really make a difference.

So, while this product was nice, it didn’t really hold up as well as I would’ve liked in terms of actual oil control.

Pros:

  • Decent price
  • Lasts a long time
  • Production date on back
  • Cute and sturdy container
  • Soft puff
  • Convenient
  • Subtle citrus scent
  • Mattifies skin upon application
  • Doesn’t look cakey or give you a white cast

Cons:

  • A little bit messy
  • A little disappointing in terms of oil control

Overall rating: 7/10

Would I repurchase? Unfortunately, I don’t think so.

This was a nice little product to try, and I will use it up, but I don’t think I’ll be repurchasing it. There weren’t any adverse effects, though, so it has improved my opinion of Etude House skincare a bit. Perhaps others will have more luck with this product than I did.

6 thoughts on “[Review] Etude House Zero Sebum Drying Powder

  1. Hello. I like your blog. It’s really useful…
    and i want to ask you 🙂
    I have combination skin. Do you have any idea which powder that suits me better?
    Actually i want to buy Etude House Baby Sweet Sugar Powder. But i don’t know if a loose powder suits me or not (they said that loose powder is oil-free)
    Innisfree no sebum mineral powder/ etude loose powder ? i don’t know which one to buy.. please help me 🙂

    • I have combination skin as well and, so far, loose powders have worked pretty well for me (I’ve only tried those two, though, so I don’t know how well the Baby Sweet powder works). Personally, the Innisfree powder worked better for me, although the Etude House powder does come with more so it’ll last longer.
      Thanks for stopping by, and I hope this helps!

  2. Pingback: [Review] TheFaceShop Face It Oil Cut Pore Balm | delicatedesire

Leave a Reply

