[Review] Skinfood Gold Kiwi Toner

Hey everyone! I’m sorry I haven’t been able to post much lately…I’ve just been a little busy. But I’m back, and with another review for you guys. Enjoy!

2014-12-06 20.53.47

I got a sample of this a little while ago, but I sort of forgot about it until last week…but I was out of toner anyways, so it was perfect timing.

I had a little bit of a hard time finding the toner online (Maybe I just wasn’t looking in the right places?), though I did find the cream, serum, etc. that were also part of this line. I finally found it on Amazon for about $16.00, which is a little pricey for a toner, in my opinion (Since most toners don’t really seem to do all that much).

This toner is a thin, clear liquid like pretty much every other toner out there. However, that made it a little messy to use with this foil packet packaging. I got about 2 uses out of this packet, though (So basically a day) because I didn’t want this leaking everywhere.

I expected this to smell like kiwi or something, but it actually smelled…really weird. Not bad, exactly, but sort of like the typical perfumed scent in skincare with a hint of fruit? I feel like they just tried to mask that perfumed scent and failed. Though it’s not exactly bad, it’s not exactly pleasant either…although it did pique my curiosity, because it took me a few seconds to figure out what I was smelling.

The scent wasn’t that strong, though (Which probably made it harder to identify), so that was a good thing.

This toner did leave a bit of a sticky layer, or film, on my skin…it went away after a few minutes, though. Nothing too bad, thankfully.

I didn’t really use this toner long enough to comment on any long-term affects, but it didn’t cause any adverse effects, so that’s good. And I didn’t feel like this was drying or anything. It did a decent job as a toner, but wasn’t anything special.

Pros:

  • Decent toner
  • Mild scent
  • No adverse effects
  • Not drying

Cons:

  • A little hard to find
  • Pricey
  • Strange scent
  • Sticky layer/film

Overall rating: 6/10

Would I purchase this? I don’t think so.

This was sort of a ‘meh’ product for me. I didn’t dislike it, but it’s not really memorable for me. I was glad I got to try it out, though. And maybe those who use it for longer will have more good things to say about it than me.

Leave a Reply

