[Review] Skinfood Rice Mask Wash Off

Hey guys! Hope you all had a great week…and that you’ll enjoy this new review.

2015-02-14 13.52.35

I thought I already reviewed this…but apparently I never did. Opps. Well, better late than never, right? So here it is!

2015-02-14 13.52.49

I had heard a lot of people raving about this mask, so I finally caved during an order and bought a few (10) samples of it.

2015-02-14 13.53.18

This is described as: “A wash-off mask that transforms skin into a pure and soft texture, and contains rice bran water”. You’re supposed to wash it off after 10-15 minutes, but I always leave this on for about 20 instead. I just have a habit of leaving masks on for longer than the instructions tell me to, I guess.

rice_mask___skinfood3

Anyways, the packaging for these packets (As well as the full-size) is pretty simple. I actually really like the simple, clean and convenient packaging of the full-size.

This mask is pretty goopy, and one packet can be used about twice, which makes using them straight out of the packets kind of messy. I just ended up squeezing a few packets of this into my trusty little travel container.

2015-02-14 13.53.45

This mask is basically a thick, white mask. It’s not that clear in my above picture, but you can see the tiny little bits of rice in the mask.

You don’t need all that much for your entire face, so I think the full-size would last quite a long time. This is basically an exfoliating mask, but it’s nice and gentle. I rub this in for about 5 minutes and then leave it on for about 20.

Since I don’t put on a lot at once, it gets a little hard to rub this mask in after about 2 minutes because the layer begins to dry, so I always have to put a little extra on my skin. So this starts to dry pretty quickly.

There isn’t really a strong scent, which is good. It sorts of dries into a film of sorts after about 10 minutes, with the little bits of rice still visible on your skin.

The only thing that bothers me about this mask is that my skin feels sort of sticky and/or oily while this mask is on, and rubbing it in can get a little messy.

It’s super easy to wash off, and leaves your skin really soft. It also has a brightening effect, which is nice.

I love how soft, smooth and bright my skin is in the morning after using this mask the night before. It really is awesome. The effect only lasts for about 2 days, but it’s still nice. Even on the third day, though, my skin is still pretty soft.

This also didn’t cause breakouts or irritate my skin in any way, which is always a good thing.

In short, I can totally understand why so many people out there love this mask.

Pros:

  • Simple and clean packaging
  • Don’t need that much for entire face
  • Gentle
  • Exfoliates
  • No strong scent
  • Easy to wash off
  • Leaves skin soft and smooth
  • Brightening effect
  • Effects lasts 2-3 days

Cons:

  • Starts to dry pretty quickly
  • Feels a little sticky/oily while it’s on skin
  • Can get a little messy

Overall rating: 8.5/10

Would I repurchase? Yes!

These sample packets are probably enough to last me until the summer (I use it about once every 2 weeks, since I have other masks and a ton of sheet masks that I still need to use), but I’d definitely repurchase it. I’ve also heard a lot of good things about their black sugar wash off mask, though (I had debated between that one and this one, and ended up getting this one), so I may try it out next. But I do recommend this mask, especially during the winter, when skin can get dry and flaky.

Leave a Reply

