[Review] Neutrogena Naturals Acne Spot Treatment

Hello all…hope you’ve had a great week. I’ve decided to kick off this weekend with a product I’ve been using for almost 2 years now. I don’t know why I never thought to review it until now…maybe because I’ve been using it before I started this blog. Anyways, let’s begin!

2013-11-22 21.49.52

Acne…a 4-letter word that is incredibly annoying. We all know what it is, and we’ve all experienced it. I’m sure I’m not the only one who knows how hard it is to perfect a skincare routine to treat acne without drying out our skin. After a bad experience with benzoyl peroxide, I turned to salicylic acid.

I decided to go for something slightly less harsh…this is 1% salicylic acid, as you’ll see later on.

This goes for about $9.99, which is pretty cheap compared to a lot of other acne spot treatments. One tube is 22 mL, but lasts me around 8 months.

2013-11-22 21.49.34

The packaging is really simple and clean, which I like. On the back of the box, it shows the ingredients and the sources (For some, at least). I like how they list the ingredients, because the chart makes it much easier to see what’s in the cream. They also have the expiry date.

2013-11-22 21.49.13

This also claims to no harsh chemicals, sulfates, parabens, or dyes, which was one of the reasons I picked it up in the first place.

The tube packaging is pretty good. Sometimes it dispenses too much, and it’s hard to get the last bit of product out, but I still think it’s a great method of packaging. It’s pretty convenient for travelling too, because of it’s small size.

It’s a plain white cream, slightly runny, nothing special. A little goes a long way (As with pretty much all spot treatments) and it absorbs quickly with no residue. There’s not really a scent either, which is nice.

This spot treatment doesn’t work miracles, but it works pretty well for me. I don’t have really severe breakouts, and I’ve been taking care of my skin more these past few years so this works nicely for my minor acne. If you have more severe breakouts, though, this might not do it for you.

This also dries out your skin, which is something else that I find is pretty much expected with any sort of acne treatment. So, basically, don’t just slather this all over your face like a face cream. But I wouldn’t expect anybody to really do that, anyways.

Also, if you use too much (Which I have accidentally done a few times), it starts coming off in little pieces as you try to rub it in. And that’s how you would know you’ve dabbed too much onto one spot, or have already applied cream to that spot.

It’s started to become less effective, though (As expected after having used it for almost 2 years now), so I’m currently looking for one to replace this. However, I’d recommend it to anyone looking for something to treat minor acne.

Pros:

  • Cheap
  • Simple, clean and convenient packaging
  • No harsh chemicals, sulfates, parabens or dyes
  • Ingredients listed clearly
  • Little goes a long way
  • Absorbs quickly
  • No residue
  • No strong scents
  • Works well for minor acne

Cons:

  • Sometimes dispenses too much
  • Might not be enough for more severe breakouts
  • Dries out skin
  • If you use too much, starts coming off in little pieces

Overall rating: 8.5/10

Would I repurchase? I already have.

Like I mentioned before, I’ve repurchased this a few times before but, because I’ve used the same spot treatment for so long, it’s started to lose effectiveness. But for something that’s only about $10.00, this was a pretty good product.

Leave a Reply

