[Review] Garnier Moisture Rescue Refreshing Gel-Cream

Happy February, everyone! I hope you’ve all been enjoying the first day of this lovely month. Anyways, I have a moisturizer review for you guys…I’ve been using this for about a month, and I thought it was time to finally review it. Enjoy!

2014-10-12 01.52.27

I got this for about $9.99, which is a pretty good price for a moisturizer. I’d read mixed reviews about this product online, and decided to chance it and try it our for myself. I use another Garnier moisturizer during the the day, so I thought I’d use this one at night.

This claims to not only have anti-oxidants, but lock in moisture and smooth skin for 24 hours. I’m pretty skeptical about the 24 hour thing, but I always am. I wanted a moisturizer that wouldn’t be greasy and wouldn’t have me waking up every morning with a face full of oil, and this one sounded like it might fit the bill.

In the winter, I have a few dry patches on my skin, but my t-zone and chin get pretty oily even during the cold weather. It’s pretty difficult to find a moisturizer that caters to both my dry and oily zones. I heard gel creams were pretty good for this, and I’ve tried a few for myself, but I never actually got a full-sized gel cream. So let’s see how this one did, shall we?

2014-10-12 01.53.10

This comes in a nice, sturdy jar that’s clear, so you can see how much of the cream you have left. A lot of people think that this sort of packaging is unsanitary, but, for a night cream, I’m fine with it. I always wash my hands before using it, anyways. It’s not too inconvenient, either.

Also, as you can see, you can tell whether or not the jar been’s opened before, which is a bonus. It’s reassuring.

This 50mL jar will probably last me about 6 months. That’s less than $2.00 a month, which (Like I said before) is a pretty good price.

2014-10-12 01.53.34

There’s a little separator inside, and some kind of glue inside the lid that I think is supposed to stick to the separator and take it off with the lid whenever you open it. It worked sometimes, but never very well, so I just ended up throwing out the separator.

2014-10-12 01.54.08

The gel itself is a nice aqua green colour, but, in smaller amounts, it looks clear (As you can see from the swatch above). It has a nice gel consistency, a little thinner than other gels I’ve tried though.

It does have a perfumed scent, but nothing too bad. At least, not for you. If you’re sensitive to scents, though, you might want to think twice before picking this one up.

This gel absorbs pretty quickly and although it doesn’t leave behind any greasiness, it does feel slightly sticky after application. This disappears within a few minutes, though.

This feels pretty refreshing upon application. That’s one thing I like about gels…it doesn’t feel as heavy as creams when I apply it to my skin.

Unfortunately, this gel isn’t as moisturizing as I hoped it would be. I think it’d be great for anyone with just overall oily skin, or for combination skin during the summer, but it didn’t do much for my dry patches. It helped keep them from getting too flaky, but they were still pretty dry and, on incredibly cold days when I was outside for a long time, sometimes itchy, too.

So, in short, it definitely doesn’t lock in moisture or smooth skin for 24 hours.

This didn’t cause me to breakout or anything, though, which is for sure a good thing. It also doesn’t make my skin any oilier than it already is.

Maybe I’d like this better as a summer moisturizer, or maybe to use during the day in the wintertime, but it’s not quite there in terms of the winter moisturizer I’m looking for.

Pros:

  • Cheap
  • Sturdy packaging
  • Nice consistency
  • Absorbs quickly
  • No greasiness
  • Refreshing
  • Didn’t cause breakouts
  • Doesn’t make skin oilier

Cons:

  • Separator is annoying
  • Perfumed scent
  • Feels slightly sticky after application
  • Not that moisturizing

Overall rating: 7.5/10

Would I repurchase? Maybe

Like I said before, I might like this better as a daytime moisturizer during the wintertime or maybe during the summertime. Sadly, it’s not moisturizing enough for me. So, depending on how it performs during the warmer months, I might repurchase this some other time. However, I’ll keep looking for another nighttime moisturizer to use during the wintertime after I’m finished with this jar.

One thought on “[Review] Garnier Moisture Rescue Refreshing Gel-Cream

  1. Pingback: [Review] Olay Fresh Effects Dew Over Hydrating Gel Moisturizer | delicatedesire

Leave a Reply

