[Review] Shiseido Benefiance Extra Creamy Cleansing Foam

Hello everyone! A little while ago, I got 2 (generous) samples of this cleanser as part of my purchase at Shiseido…it’s finally time for me to get the review up.

2014-09-14 18.37.58

This comes in a little tube, which is one of my favourite types of packaging. Convenient and hygienic. The packaging is simple and clean, too. The only thing I don’t really like is that it’s completely opaque, so I never really know how much I have left.

2014-10-14 13.09.35

I apologize for the blurry pictures…my camera refused to focus properly (I’m not sure why) while I was taking them, no matter how hard I tried or from what angle. But, hopefully, you’ll be able to see the orange bits I’m talking about. They remind me a little of cereal bits or something similiar…

The cleanser itself is like a cream, with these little orange bits in it. It lathers up decently (It’s like a cross between a cream and a foam to me) and the little orange bits dissolve as you rub them into your skin. Not entirely sure what they’re supposed to do, but it feels nice.

2014-10-14 13.12.51

As you can see from the above picture, this isn’t your average foam…it’s more like a cross between a cream and a foam, like I said before.

The scent is your typical perfumed scent, nothing too strong, but those sensitive to scents might want to take note.

This doesn’t really get my skin as squeaky clean as I’d like. I actually only use this in the morning, because it doesn’t do a very good job of cleansing off makeup of any kind. And I usually just wear concealer and lip tint, which should be pretty easy to clean off. But it doesn’t do as good a job as I’d like. I would definitely not use this if I had foundation on.

This doesn’t dry out my skin at all, however, so that might be a reason as to why it doesn’t clean as well as I’d like.

It also washes out easily and with no residue at all, which is nice.

In the end, not a bad cleanser but nothing really special about it.

Pros:

  • Tube packaging
  • Feels nice on skin
  • Doesn’t dry out skin
  • No residue

Cons:

  • Tube is opaque
  • Perfumed
  • Doesn’t get skin as clean as I’d like

Overall rating: 7/10

Would I purchase? Probably not.

While I would definitely not mind getting some more samples of this, I wouldn’t purchase this myself. It just doesn’t really stand out for me. I’m glad that I got to try it out, though. I wonder if I’ll ever find a cleanser that will knock my current HG off of its pedestal…

Leave a comment