[Review] It’s Skin Macaron Lip Balm (Strawberry)

Hello everyone! After the last review of the adorable My Castle hand cream from Etude House, I decided to do another review of one of the most adorable products I own…this little macaron lip balm from It’s Skin!

2014-11-26 07.53.41

The moment that I laid eyes on this lip balm, I knew I just had to have it…and I was so happy when it finally arrived!

As you can see, even the box for this lip balm was adorable and just so perfect. The lip balm container is made of plastic, is really sturdy and looks like an actual macaron! I’ve actually had people ask why I was keeping macarons in my bag, and then had the pleasure of seeing their eyes practically pop out of their head when I screwed the top off to reveal the lip balm underneath.

2014-11-26 07.53.55

This cost me ~$6.50 (Shipping included), which isn’t too bad, but it does cost more than a lot of the drugstore lip balms that I’ve seen. The packaging also isn’t as convenient to carry around as a tube, but it’s totally worth it. It’s not too bad, either…this little macaron fits right in your palm.

2014-11-26 07.54.01

The lip balm itself is also pink, although it’s a slightly deeper shade than the container, and smells amazing. I expected it to smell really artificial and sweet, but it smells like strawberry jam…just like the jam you’d expect to find inside a strawberry macaron!

2014-11-26 07.54.15

I bought this after only reading a few reviews, so I wasn’t entirely sure how well the lip balm worked, but bought it on a leap of faith…and because it was just so darn cute!

To my surprise, the lip balm actually worked really well. Sure, it’s a little unhygienic and inconvenient to use your fingers to apply it (It’s too troublesome to carry around a lip brush), but the lip balm itself isn’t too sticky or thick, which I really like. It’s a little glossy, but I find that a lot of lip balms are. And I don’t mind it.

Besides the fact that it’s unhygienic, the lip balm itself can also get a little messy (But nothing too bad) after some use. I’m talking random tiny hairs and such. And yes, I do wash my hands before I apply this lip balm. Every time.

The best part (Besides the packaging), though? It’s actually pretty moisturizing. I put it on my chapped lips (Keep in mind that this is during the winter, too) and it actually does a pretty good job of making and keeping them soft. I was pleasantly surprised and am now in love with this lip balm.

A little goes a pretty long way with this balm, so it’ll last a pretty long time. And I only have to re-apply about once every 3 hours (And only if I’m out), so this’ll probably last me a pretty long time.

Like with the My Castle hand cream buying this lip balm in every flavour suddenly seems very tempting.

Pros:

  • Adorable and sturdy packaging – looks just like a real macaron!
  • Smells amazing
  • Not too sticky or thick
  • Moisturizing
  • Will last a pretty long time

Cons:

  • A little pricey
  • Unhygienic
  • Inconvenient
  • Lip balm can get a little messy

Overall rating: 9/10

Would I repurchase? Yes!

This lip balm is adorable, smells delicious and works great…what more could I ask for? And the price isn’t too steep, so I could totally justify buying all of them…not all at once, obviously. But I’d definitely repurchase this.

6 thoughts on “[Review] It’s Skin Macaron Lip Balm (Strawberry)

  1. It looks so cute! I don’t usually like tubs lip balms due to the hygienic side of things but this looks too adorable I can’t even resist! & were there any other flavours? 🙂

Leave a Reply

