[Review] Etude House My Castle Hand Cream (Ice Frozen)

Finally…the review for this product is up! This product has made it into my top 10 favourite products, as mentioned in one of last month’s posts, but now you guys will know why.

2014-11-10 23.46.45

Alright, so first things first…the claim. Taken from the Etude House website, this particular scent is described as one that “is a magical “Ice Frozen Castle” hand cream with ice floral fragrance”. That isn’t really helpful, but I loved the design of the container, so I chose this one.

2014-11-10 23.47.25

Of course, this little castle is a little inconvenient to carry around, but I had planned to just keep it and use it only at home, anyways. The packaging is nice and sturdy, though, so you can definitely keep it around even after you use up all the hand cream.

I had a coupon on Jolse, so I got this for ~$6.00 (Shipping included), which isn’t too bad. It was also either 10% or 15% off…I can’t quite remember.

2014-11-10 23.47.41

Anyways, this is even more adorable in person…it’s a small little castle, and it has a little story (In Engrish, of course) on the side of the box (Which is quite long, so I’m not going to type it all out…feel free to try and read it from the picture below, though). There’s even a little mirror on the side of the castle like it says in the little story, though…they really thought of everything!

2014-11-10 23.48.26

The whole concept of each little castle having a different story is pretty unique, though. I’m curious about what the stories on the other boxes say.

The moment you screw the lid (The roof, in this case) off, you can begin to smell the hand cream. It’s not really strong, though. But those sensitive to scents might want to proceed with caution with these hand creams. Or at least this one.

The scent is pretty difficult to describe…it’s like a wintry, floral scent. In my opinion, it’s a really nice scent and really fits the concept of the “Ice Frozen” castle. It lingers for about 10-15 minutes after you apply it, so you might want to keep that in mind if you’re planning on purchasing it.

2014-11-10 23.48.04

The texture of this cream is a little strange, though. It’s like a cross between marshmallow topping and jelly. I’ve never really had a hand cream like that before…maybe it’s thicker in the winter because of the cold? I don’t know. Sometimes, even when I put my finger on the cream, I don’t actually come up with anything…it’s strange. But maybe it’s just mine, I’m not sure.

As you can see, the cream itself is a really pale blue…ice blue, if you like. They’re really going all out with this concept, and I love it!

However, this does mean a little goes a pretty long way. I don’t have to use as much as I usually do, so this hand cream will last a pretty long time.

It does a pretty good job of moisturizing your hands and keeping them nice and soft, even during the winter.

Basically, it’s cute, smells nice and gets the job done!

Pros:

  • Cute and sturdy packaging
  • Unique concept
  • Nice scent
  • Little goes a long way
  • Moisturizes hand and keeps them soft

Cons:

  • Scent lingers
  • Texture a little strange
  • Scent might bother some

Overall rating: 9.5/10

Would I repurchase? Yes!

A hand cream that’s adorable, decently priced and works well…I sort of want to collect them all! However, that’d probably take a pretty long time since one container will probably last me a little over half a year. The other scents all sound really nice, though, and something this adorable…it’s hard to resist.

Leave a Reply

