[Review] TonyMoly Red Appletox Honey Cream

Hello everyone! Last day of the break…I hope everyone got the chance to unwind and relax these past few days. I decided to get one final review in before we all get back to life as usual…I hope you enjoy!

36665

So…I couldn’t find a product description, or the product, on the TonyMoly website (I probably didn’t look hard enough…sorry!), so I got it off of this site. You can read the full description on the website, but I’ll just give you guys a shortened version (Engrish included, though): “Contains Manuka Honey […] that provide an immunity ad anti-bacterial effect. Royal Jelly extract cools down skin troubles, making it good for sensitive skin. Black honey […] nourishes and moisturizes skin. Apple acid ingredients smoothes skin while Propolis provides anti-oxidants. Sticky texture relaxes the muscle to give elasticity.” That last part is a little weird, but okay.

Short list of benefits: Anti-bacterial, acne care, nourishes, moisturizes, smoothes, anti-oxidant.

Alright, so let’s start!

2014-12-06 20.53.21

This cream comes in an adorable little apple container, as seen in the picture at the top. I only got a sample, though, but even the sample packet was pretty cute, as you can see from the above picture.

I’ve seen this container in person at a TonyMoly store and it’s not only adorable, but also sturdy, which is great. It’s big enough that I could see myself re-using it to store little trinkets, package small gifts and other things.

The cream itself looks like honey…and its consistency resembles honey a bit, too. It’s slightly sticky, which worried me a little, but I decided to go ahead and apply it anyways. It also smells pretty strongly of apple with a touch of honey, which was really nice. Not too overwhelming, though.

2015-01-03 19.25.54

Here’s a little swatch, which I showed on my Twitter page yesterday…I didn’t have much left in the packet by the time I realized I didn’t have any swatches of the product. Sorry about that!

Even after you apply it, the slightly sticky feeling remains…it fades after about 10 or 15 minutes, but I didn’t really like that. The scent lingers for about that long as well. And I can only imagine the bugs the scent and texture combined would attract during the summer.

This cream does absorb pretty quickly, though (Despite the slightly sticky texture afterwards) and its consistency wasn’t too thick, either. It was a little like thin goo, for lack of a better description. Because of that, though, you don’t have to use too much, which is nice.

I only used this at night and this little sample packet was enough to last me about a week.

So…how many of the claims were true? Let’s see, shall we?

Anti-bacterial & acne care: I decided to treat these two as one because it’s pretty hard to prove the former alone. This cream didn’t give me any breakouts (Which was great), but it didn’t seem to do much to help my acne, either.

Nourishes & Moisturizes & Smoothes: These three go hand-in-hand for me, so I decided to lump them together as a category. This cream was actually a really good moisturizer, even during the winter. It kept my skin nice and soft without making it more oily than it already was. Usually creams that moisturize also cause me to wake up with skin so shiny I’m surprised it’s not reflective. But this one didn’t!

Anti-oxidant: Not sure how to prove this one…sorry. I’m not sure exactly what they mean by this (Acne care, anti-aging, etc.), so I can’t really comment on that.

I can, however, say that the sticky texture does not relax your muscles or give your skin more elasticity. I’m almost convinced they made that up so people wouldn’t question the sticky texture of the cream and would instead think it was intentional. Or something. But it doesn’t do anything like that.

Despite that, it was a pretty good cream…another win for TonyMoly!

Pros:

  • Adorable and sturdy container
  • Nice scent
  • Absorbs quickly
  • Little goes a long way
  • Doesn’t cause breakouts
  • Keeps skin nice and soft

Cons:

  • Slightly sticky texture that remains after application
  • Doesn’t help reduce breakouts
  • Sticky texture doesn’t relax muscles or give skin more elasticity

Overall rating: 8.5/10

Would I repurchase? Maybe.

This seems like a nice cream for the winter, but I’m not too sure about the summer…and my skin isn’t as dry during the summer, either. I already have a winter moisturizer, but who knows…maybe I’ll consider buying this next winter.

Leave a Reply

