[Review] Etude House Face Conditioning Cream (SPF25/PA++)

Hello…so, the weather’s gotten pretty chilly lately and I’ve been looking for a more moisturizing cream to replace my current moisturizer. So when I got a sample of this, I thought it was perfect. I actually got 2, which was nice because it gave me a good opportunity to really test it out.

2014-12-06 20.49.18

I haven’t had really good experiences with Etude House creams in the past, so I was a little wary about this one, but decided to try it anyways because I had read a lot of good reviews about it. And plus…I wasn’t about to waste two perfectly good free samples.

The claim is pretty simple: “Offers moisture and nourishment depending on skin condition and controls excessive oil to create healthy skin. Minimizes complex steps from skincare to makeup base to boost makeup conditioning lightly and simply. Applies skin moist balancing formula. Contains plant oil complex. Spreads thinly and gently as soon as touched to skin and creates boosting veil to increase adhesive feeling of makeup.” It also claims to whiten and prevent wrinkles as well as ‘balance’ skin (It says balancing…pretty vague, so I’m not really sure what they actually meant for it to do). Alright, sounds pretty good so far.

Even though I got samples, I looked up the full-size and, though it’s not your usual incredibly cute Etude House packaging, it’s still very cute, despite being simple. I like the tube packaging, though…nice and convenient.

This has SPF protection, which is nice, but it also looks a lot like a sunscreen. It’s white and has the consistency of a thinner sunscreen.

Unfortunately, it also gives your skin that slightly shiny look that you also get with sunscreen. No white cast though, which is good.

This feels a bit thick on my skin, and also leaves a bit of a film behind, which I don’t really like. It also has a slight scent, but it fades pretty much right after you apply it, so that’s not too bad.

This definitely moisturizes skin, which is nice and great for the winter. It also makes a decent makeup base, but I wouldn’t consider it light. it’s not thick, but definitely not light.

It also doesn’t control oil, despite its claim, which is a little saddening…it also doesn’t whiten your skin, but at least the SPF protection prevents it from tanning. I can’t say anything about whether or not it prevents wrinkles, though. I definitely haven’t used this long enough to make a verdict about that one, and probably won’t be able to make a verdict about any anti-aging products for a while.

However, it didn’t break me out or anything, so I guess this is an improvement from the other Etude House creams that I’ve tried.

All in all, a decent moisturizer but not exactly one of my favourites.

Pros:

  • Nice packaging
  • SPF protection
  • Moisturizes skin
  • Makes a decent makeup base
  • Didn’t break me out

Cons:

  • Makes skin slightly shiny
  • Leaves a bit of a film behind
  • Doesn’t control oil
  • Doesn’t whiten skin like claim says

Overall rating: 6/10

Would I purchase? Probably not.

It was nice to try it out, but I didn’t really like it all that much. I heard that there’s a ‘light’ version for oily skinned people, but I suspect that it also gives the same shiny slight film effect to skin, so I think I’ll pass. It’s too bad…I love Etude House packaging, but I don’t seem to have much luck with their products.

3 thoughts on “[Review] Etude House Face Conditioning Cream (SPF25/PA++)

Leave a Reply

