[Review] TheFaceShop Face It Collagen Ex Two-Way Cake SPF30 PA+++ (NB21)

Hello everyone…today’s review is on a TheFaceShop product with a very long name, as you can see from the title.

2014-05-31 21.26.26

The claim is also incredibly long…the full claim is on TheFaceShop website, but I’ll just summarize it:

“Luxurious anti-aging ingredient gold & collagen, creates 3-stage #D volume with moisturizing/resilience/anti=aging ingredients, resilience, anti-aging, volume fit powder creates youthful skin, uses 3D contour powder that delivers smooth application and excellent adherence and radiance, ultra fine cushion powder evenly spreads on the skin bumps covering fine lines and pores completely silky smooth skin, long lasting radiance, colour control powder, UV protection.”

Some of you may be wondering why I bought an anti-aging pact…I actually didn’t. My mother originally purchased it for herself and I just used it because I didn’t want to purchase a separate pact (I don’t really use these all that often). Somehow, though, I ended up using it more than her…and that’s saying a lot because, on average, I probably use this about once a month.

Alright, now that that’s all over with…on to the review!

This is ~$25.00 in store (I can’t quite remember…sorry!), but we bought this during their opening, so we got $15 off a $45.00 purchase.

The packaging is nice and simple, as you can see…nothing particularly special about it, although this actually looks pretty classy in all of its simplicity…in its own way. That would make sense, though, when you think about the age group they’re to target with this product.

2014-05-31 21.26.46

The case opens and shuts with no problem, and there’s a cover separating the puff and the product, which I like. It’s actually pretty sturdy.

2014-05-31 21.43.06

I took this picture pretty much right when I got the product and, as you can see, Face It is printed on the surface of the powder. It fades away with a few uses, though.

2014-05-31 21.43.47

I bought an extra puff for this from TheFaceShop, since they were having a sale and I was already buying other things. It was pretty cheap, so it’s nice knowing this puff can be replaced so easily and not using too much money.

There is pretty much no coverage with this product, which I expected…I just wanted something to set my makeup on days when I wear foundation. However, this does even out skin tone and gives you a matte finish, which is nice. This also makes your skin feel really nice and silky…whenever I have this on, I want to touch my face (Which is not really good) because of that. It feels pretty light on skin, too.

There is a slight scent that lingers after you put the powder on your face, but I didn’t really mind it.

I can’t say anything about the anti-aging effect, for obvious reasons. However, I suppose this would make your skin look more youthful because it would even out your complexion and helps your skin look smoother.

This definitely helps keep your skin shine-free for about 2 hours, and even then your skin won’t get as oily as it usually does. As for the silky smooth feeling, it lasts pretty much all day (Except for the parts where your skin are oily), which is nice.

The only real negative about this product?

It causes me to break out a little the next day if I’m not careful with cleansing and skincare the night before…it’s not a big deal (Just one or two small pimples that go away within a few days), but still…

Oh, and if you’re already sort of breaking out, this will make things worse. So watch out for that. Again, not targeted for my skin, so I guess it’d be fine for people more concerned with anti-aging.

Also, as for the ‘3D contour powder’ they talk about in the claim…not sure what that’s all about. I guess it adheres well and makes your skin look smooth, though not really radiant, but it definitely doesn’t contour or anything…

Not a bad overall product, even though I guess it’s not really made for my skin type…

Pros:

  • Simple and sturdy packaging
  • Sets makeup
  • Evens out skin tone
  • Matte finish
  • Makes skin feel nice and silky
  • Helps control oil

Cons:

  • No coverage
  • Causes minor breakouts
  • Makes breakouts worse

Overall rating: 8/10

Would I repurchase? Maybe.

While this was a nice pact, I feel like maybe I should get one more suited to my skin (Like the one made specifically for oil control). The minor breakouts are also a little annoying…who knows. I guess we’ll have to see but, with the frequency I use this, I may never actually use this up. Although I don’t think I’ll ever understand that whole ‘two way cake’ thing…what’s up with that?

One thought on “[Review] TheFaceShop Face It Collagen Ex Two-Way Cake SPF30 PA+++ (NB21)

  1. Pingback: [Review] TheFaceShop Face It Oil Cut Pore Powder Pact SPF25 PA++ | delicatedesire

Leave a Reply

