[Review] TheFaceShop Chia Seed Sebum Control Moisture Cream

Happy December everyone! So, my last review was on the toner that’s supposed to go with this..and now I’m reviewing the cream!

2014-10-12 01.58.31

The claims are as follows: “A moisture cream that replenishes skin with moisture while preventing excess sebum. Uses good seeds and good technology that make the extracts fresh and is also good for the cream. A clear, mild cream. Real oil-zero. Uses 100% chia seed extract instead of water.” That sounds great and all, but let’s see how well it lived up to those claims.

I got a total of 3 samples of this product, which I put into the little containers that I also got from TheFaceShop.

I had been wanting to try this product, so I had pretty high expectations for it, especially after reading a few positive reviews about it. However, I also saw a few reviews that said it worked fine, but caused breakouts, so I was a little bit nervous about that. I was glad I got free samples to try it out first.

Alright, so let’s start.

63583

I’ve seen the packaging for this in store, and I like it because it’s simple and clean, but also pretty sturdy, which is nice. It costs way more in store than it does online ($33.00 in store tax not included, ~$25.00 online shipping included, which is a pretty big difference), though. At least here.

The cream itself is just a simple, clear gel, as you can see from the above pictures. Nothing really special about it. Sort of looks like water if you ask me. It’s not as thin as I expected, though. For example, it doesn’t slide around in the container I put it in or anything…in fact, it doesn’t really move around no matter what I do, yet it’s really easy to spread, so it’s a pretty nice consistency (In my opinion, at least).

You don’t need very much for your entire face and neck, which is nice. It also absorbs pretty quickly, although there’s a slight sticky feeling left behind, but nothing too bad.

This works fine even under make-up, and doesn’t really make an immediate difference.

Alone, it also doesn’t seem to do anything to control oil, which is a little disappointing. On the bright side, it didn’t cause any excess oil to be produced, which is always a good thing.

There’s also a slight scent, but it goes away pretty much right after you apply it, so it shouldn’t really bother anyone. If you’re really sensitive to scents, though, you may want to try it out in-store or get samples (If possible) before you make any sort of commitment (i.e. spending money on the full-size product).

This is pretty moisturizing, but I find that it’s not quite moisturizing enough for my dry patches. It would probably be fine during the summer, but I don’t think it’s enough for the winter, especially not when it gets really cold. This worked fine for my oily T-zone, though.

This was perfectly fine when used as a day cream as long as I had a more moisturizing night cream, though. I like having a lighter moisturizer for the daytime, anyways.

After using it for a little over 2 weeks, I didn’t see any real difference in my skin. It prevented it from getting too dry, but didn’t really amaze me, unfortunately.

Now…when used with the toner, things were a little different.

Nothing changed about its moisturizing ability, but it did control oil. Not remarkably, mind you, but it kept my skin shine-free for about an extra hour of the day. So I guess I have to use the two products together to get any sort of result in the oil control department.

All in all, this is a decent line from TheFaceShop. Not really my favourite skincare line or anything, though.

Pros:

  • Nice and sturdy packaging
  • Nice consistency
  • A little goes a long way
  • Absorbs quickly
  • Scent fades after you apply it
  • Good as a light moisturizer
  • Controls oil a little bit when used with the toner

Cons:

  • Pretty pricey when bought in-store
  • Slight sticky feeling after application
  • Not moisturizing enough for dry patches (Esp. during winter)
  • When used alone, doesn’t control oil at all

Overall rating: 7.5/10

Would I purchase? I don’t think so.

I don’t really want to buy both products, and since this alone doesn’t control oil or wow me in the moisture department (Which is supposed to be its main function) I could save myself the money by buying a better moisturizer for less. Or even shell out a little more to buy a moisturizer I’ll really love. So, unfortunately, I think this is the end of my relationship with the Sebum Control version of the chia seed line. I’ve had a few successes with other TheFaceShop skincare products (See here and here), so at least I still have faith in them.

7 thoughts on “[Review] TheFaceShop Chia Seed Sebum Control Moisture Cream

  1. Thank goodness I didn’t buy this haha. I was about the buy the full tub and I probably would’ve been sad if I needed the toner as well since I absolutely love my current toner. Argh this oily skin of ours!

  2. Hi, i just found you page and im loving it! I also have a very oily skin and i easily get pimples. I’ve been using a mix of holika-holika and the face shop products from the facewash to the moisturizer and its very dissapointing! Do you have any advice for felow oily skin? And products that didnt cause any breakouts. Thankyou~

    • Hi, sorry for the late reply!
      Different products work differently for everyone, but I can definitely give you a few recommendations. I find that gel cream in general works best for my skin (Currently I am using a Garnier one), though I need a somewhat more moisturizing night cream in the wintertime. I use an essence to help moisturize my skin without making it more oily. I find Innisfree makes really good products…I love their green tea line. Some products with salicylic acid might help, though. I would probably recommend Innisfree and Neutrogena’s Naturals line.
      I hope this helps somewhat…thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

