[Review] Lancôme Color Design Ombre Mono Effets Sensationnels

Hello! So…today I am reviewing my most used, most loved eyeshadow palette ever. As you can probably already tell, this is definitely an HG product for me.

2013-11-22 21.32.01

I got this as a gift with purchase…where I get most of my Lancôme makeup products. As usual, this is pretty expensive. Somewhere from $30.00-40.00, I believe.

Alright, so this comes in the standard simple yet classy black eyeshadow case with the classic rose emblem on it.

2013-11-22 21.30.00

The colors in them are pretty basic (3 mattes and 1 metallic). I apologize for the blurry pictures (Maybe it has something to do with the metallic writing…I don’t know), but here are the names: Daylight, Off The Rack, Ciel Du Soir and Sultry Mauve. One of the reasons that this is my favourite palette is because of the fact that it’s mostly matte and not filled with glittery shades, so it’s a lot more wearable.

2013-11-22 21.30.59

The above picture is actually a pretty accurate representations of the shades, for once. My favourites are definitely Daylight and Ciel Du Soir. Daylight is a great natural shade, and I love using it under shadows as a sort of base and for everyday natural makeup. Ciel Du Soir is great for a very wearable smokey eye…I don’t like make-up that’s too dramatic, so this is perfect for me when I want something a little more.

This is really pigmented…what you see is what you get, that’s all I can say. It lasts pretty much all day, too. I get almost no fading from this. I once wore this from morning until night, over 12 hours…it looked almost the same as it did when I applied it in the morning, with minimal fading and no smudging…barely noticeable difference. And this is with my oily lids, too.

It also doesn’t crease (Except when used with my strange primer, as noted in my review), which is awesome.

Unfortunately, I only use the Off The Rack shade sometimes, and I rarely use the Sultry Mauve one. I guess they’re just not really my colours. I am definitely not going to use them up any time soon, which is a bit of a waste.

All in all, though, definitely a great shadow to have.

Pros:

  • Simple packaging
  • Mostly matte shadows
  • Pigmented
  • Lasts all day
  • No creasing or smudging

Cons:

  • Expensive
  • Some shades rarely used

Overall rating: 9.5/10

Would I repurchase? Maybe.

I don’t really wear eyeshadow, so one palette lasts me a pretty long time (A reason I don’t purchase much)…I’m pretty sure there will be another gift with purchase palette I’ll like before I use up this one. Plus, one of the reasons I can never give these Lancôme products 10/10 even though they’re HGs is because of the price. However, this is definitely my HG palette.

One thought on “[Review] Lancôme Color Design Ombre Mono Effets Sensationnels

  1. Pingback: 10 Days of Favourites: Day 9 | delicatedesire

Leave a Reply

