[Review] The Body Shop Tea Tree Squeaky-Clean Scrub

Hi everyone! So…I got this product a few months ago and am now almost finished with it. I figured that a review has been long due. I hope you guys enjoy!

2014-04-09 17.15.02

The claims are pretty straight-forward: Suitable for blemished skin, unclogs pores with over-drying the skin. Made with Community Fair Trade organic tea tree oil. Skin instantly feels soft, smooth and super clean. Pores look visibly clearer and face feels purified. This is described as a skin-clearing facial scrub that combines micro-fine exfoliants with bursting beads to help unclog pores without over-drying…according to The Body Shop website.

Alright, so I bought this during a “Buy 3, Get 3 Free” event at The Body Shop. This is usually $12.00, which isn’t too pricey, considering how long a single tube lasts you. Plus…The Body Shop has frequent sales, so if you just wait a little, you could get a pretty good price on this.

They suggest you only use it a few times a week (I use it about 2-3 times a week, as an exfoliator), so one tube lasts a little over half a year. I bought it back in May, and I’m pretty sure I won’t run out until around the beginning of January…so the price isn’t bad when you think about how long one tube lasts.

I love the packaging this product comes in…but I also dislike it. A tube is super convenient, but a some of the product ends up as dried gunk around the opening. I’ve had to clean it a few times because of this. The opening is also bigger than I expected, especially since this is actually a pretty runny gel. I do like how you can see how much product is left, though.

2014-04-09 17.15.22

This is green in colour (As you can see from the above picture) and does indeed have both micro-fine exfoliants and bursting beads. The bursting beads are the white dots, and the micro-fine exfoliants are pretty hard to see, but you can definitely feel them when you’re using it.

It smells pretty strongly of tea tree oil, so I definitely have no doubts that that is one of the top ingredients in the product. I find that it’s okay, but some people might really dislike the scent.

This is a really nice exfoliator…really sloughs off that dead skin, and does in fact leave it feeling soft, smooth and squeaky clean. There is no tight or dry feeling afterwards, either. The micro-fine exfoliators sort of feel like…sandpaper? I can’t quite describe it…it’s not that rough, obviously, but the texture reminds me of that.

I’m not sure whether my skin actually feels purified afterwards…it does feel nice and cool though, which I love. My pores don’t really look any different afterwards, though.

Now, for the most important part…does this really help with acne?

Sort of. Don’t expect overnight miracles or anything (I’m pretty sure you should just never expect that), but this does make a difference after a while. My breakouts aren’t as bad and it helps keep my skin relatively clear, which is always nice. I didn’t really notice any results until around the 4th or 5th use, though, so you should turn to another product if you’re looking for a quick(er) fix.

Final verdict? Not a bad purchase at all! Definitely a great addition to my skincare routine.

Pros:

  • One tube lasts a while
  • Convenient packaging
  • Nice exfoliator
  • Skin feels cool afterwards
  • Helps keep skin clear, reduces breakouts after prolonged use

Cons:

  • Dried up gunk on opening after a while
  • Opening a bit too wide
  • No difference in pores
  • Takes time to see results

Overall rating: 9/10

Would I repurchase? Yes!

Like I said, The Body Shop has frequent promotions…I see one almost every time I pass by the store! Plus, this is a great product…do I really need any other reason? I may try out another acne exfoliator, just to compare, but this will definitely be on my list of great products, and I can already see myself getting it again. Don’t fix something that isn’t broken, am I right?

3 thoughts on “[Review] The Body Shop Tea Tree Squeaky-Clean Scrub

    • This is the only product from their tea tree line that I’ve tried (So far), so I can’t comment on how well they work. And though I did see results with this one, they were pretty minor, but I just consider any improvement good news.
      And perhaps other products will work for better for you…I’m sorry to hear that this one didn’t, though. 😦

  1. Pingback: [Review] St. Ives Blemish Control Apricot Scrub | delicatedesire

Leave a Reply

