[Review] Holika Holika Wine Therapy Sleeping Mask (Red Wine)

Hi guys! So, I have another review for you guys…this one is way overdue, and I apologize, but it’s here now…enjoy!

2014-05-25 23.21.37

This product is pretty well-known, and I’ve seen a lot of reviews raving about it, so I decided to buy a couple samples for it. I believe it was $4.50 for 5 samples, shipping included, which isn’t too bad. Plus, if it worked well, I would buy the full-sized product…the packaging for it is just so nice!

This mask claims to be an “anti-wrinkle sleeping pack that makes your skin smooth and resilient with shape memory moisture membrane of red wine”. Well…okay then. What I’ve learned from using Korean cosmetics is to just try to get the main point of the claim, and try to ignore the Engrish. So this is basically an anti-aging pack that moisturizes. Okay…moving on.

I like this sort of sample packaging better than the foil packets, because I find that it’s more convenient. I get around 3 uses out of each one, which is pretty good.

This mask is milky white, and pretty thin…it reminds me of an emulsion, actually. The thin consistency makes it pretty easy to spread. It made my hands slightly sticky, though, which always seems to happen with these sleeping masks. It also smells like grape juice, which I don’t mind, but some people might not like it. It’s not a really strong scent, but I think it’s strong enough that it may bother some people.

Anyways, I applied a generous layer of this before bed. I always find sleeping masks a little uncomfortable because my skin just looks really oily, and it feels odd to have a layer on my face. Luckily, this didn’t get on my pillow or anything (Though my hair kept sticking to it).

When I woke up, my face was a lot oilier than usual, but that happens with most sleeping masks. When I rinsed it off, I didn’t really notice any difference in my skin. I suppose it was somewhat more moisturized than usual, but that might have just been my wishful thinking (Which it often is).

I used this 3 days a row, and didn’t notice much of a difference, besides the extra oiliness when I woke up in the morning.

What I did notice, though, was that when I was already breaking it, if I used this, it seemed to make my breakouts worse. It didn’t usually break me out, though.

Well…good thing I only bought samples.

Pros:

  • Nice packaging
  • Easy to spread
  • Doesn’t get on pillow or anything
  • Doesn’t usually cause break outs

Cons:

  • Makes hands sticky
  • Scent may bother some
  • A little awkward on skin
  • Made skin oilier
  • Didn’t really moisturize
  • Makes breakouts worse

Overall rating: 1.5/10

Would I purchase? No.

Maybe sleeping masks just don’t work for me and my oily skin…they always seem to do only one thing, which is make my skin oilier. This works well for a lot of people, though, so it’s probably just me. Anti-aging things tend not to work well with my skin, anyways. A lot of people have had good results with this, though, so don’t let my review stop you from trying it. I’m just throwing in my two cents about the product.

6 thoughts on “[Review] Holika Holika Wine Therapy Sleeping Mask (Red Wine)

  1. I have oily skin too and I think it doesn’t work for me either! I usually put on a sleeping mask like an hour before I actually sleep so it can dry. But meh, I’m not really feeling the sleeping masks. I’m not going to give up hope though! I bought full sizes… so I gotta use it 😦

    • Yeah…I’ll try sleeping masks if I get samples or something, but I don’t think I’ll be purchasing full-sizes of any. Putting the mask on an hour before sounds like a pretty good idea, though! I’ll keep that in mind if there is a next time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

