[Review] Icing Chip Resistant Diamond Shield

2014-06-30 13.24.41

Hi everyone! I hope you enjoyed your weekend. I decided to do a nice, short little review for you guys about a product that I’ve had for years.

I know the bottle looks gross in the picture, and that’s because I brought it on vacation once (I had rhinestones on my nails and decided to bring this and my little wheel of rhinestones just in case I needed a touch-up) and, as you can see, had a bit of a mishap. Basically, a lot of the product spilled out and ended up drying on the bottle. It still opens and closes fine, though…just a bit sad about the wasted product.

Anyways, like I said before, I bought this a few years ago on sale after I ran out of my old top coat. It was around $3.50, which isn’t bad.

As you can see on the bottle, this “protects against breaking, splitting and peeling”. Pretty basic, but pretty much all I looked for in a top coat, or just a clear nail polish in general.

The brush for this is pretty basic and easy to use and the bottle is nice and sturdy…I’ve dropped it a few times, and, thankfully, nothing has happened to it.

After about a year, this became a little thick and tacky (It was originally thicker than a usual polish, but only slightly), which is why I now love it. It’s dry to the touch in about 1 minute and makes an amazing top coat. With this, my nail art usually lasts around 2 weeks, sometimes more. This also does a great job of keeping rhinestones on my nails, and really does help keep my nails from breaking.

Even better, it gives my nails a nice, shiny finish that just lasts and lasts.

When used alone, it makes my nails nice and glossy and prevents them from breaking, splitting and peeling. Lasts about 2 or 3 weeks on its own, too, as long as I’m careful. I remember using this whenever I played sports and didn’t want to cut my nails, to keep them from breaking.

This is also great for keeping rhinestones on my jewelry from falling off, or slowing down the loss of colour from my rings and such. There are so many ways to use this…clear nail polish is definitely a miracle product of sorts.

Sadly, I can’t seem to find this anywhere anymore. And, the only real downside about this product, is that it sometimes dries a little bit unevenly. You can’t see it, but you can feel it if you’re looking for it.

In short, I love this top coat. Like a fine wine, it definitely gets better with age.

Pros:

  • Cheap
  • Sturdy bottle
  • Brush is easy to use
  • Dries quickly
  • Makes nail art last longer
  • Great to stick rhinestones on nails
  • Shiny finish
  • Versatile

Cons:

  • Difficult to find now
  • Sometimes dries unevenly

Overall rating: 9.5/10

Would I repurchase? Yes.

Like I said before, though, this is a little difficult to find nowadays. Perhaps I’ll try out another one after this one runs out. As you can see, 1 bottle lasts me a pretty long time. And it’s a great way of preventing my hard work (My nail art, basically) from chipping, etc.

One thought on “[Review] Icing Chip Resistant Diamond Shield

  1. Pingback: The 15 Most Economical Products I’ve Ever Used | delicatedesire

Leave a Reply

